New Fishbourne, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

New Fishbourne, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1589
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chichester
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FISHBOURN, NEW (St. Peter and St. Mary), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 1¼ mile (W.) from Chichester.[1]


New Fishbourne St Peter and St Mary  is in the village and civil parish of Fishbourne in the Chichester District of West Sussex.

The church of St Peter and St Mary Appeldram Lane Fishbourne which has 13th century origins has been designated as a grade II listed building; see British listed building.

Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC),

New Fishbourne St Peter and St Mary (OPC)  There is also a One Place Study of New Fishbourne; see New Fishbourne - A One Place Study by (Steve Pickthall & Hilary Chalmers) which includes an alphabetical list of names and Census transcripts.

Fishbourne Primitive Methodist Chapel. See List of demolished worship places in West Sussex.(Wikipedia)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The FamilySearch civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Fishbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Fishbourne Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1589-1877 1589-1640, 1655-1876
PRTS 1589-1901
1589-1908
1589-1902
SOPC Undefined



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fishbourne, New

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

The OPC for New Fishbourne also has a One Place Study of New Fishbourne Steve Pickthall One Place Study of New Fishbourne which includes an alphabetical list of names and Census transcripts



Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 235-238. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,031 times.