New Forest, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png New Forest

Guide to New Forest, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Forest, Hampshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fordingbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union New Forest PLU
Registration District New Forest
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

New Forest-- hundred, in SW. of Hants, 83,737 ac., pop. 9444. The New Forest occupies most of the SW. corner of Hants. It is about 14 miles long N. to S., and 16 miles broad E. to W.; about one-fourth of the area consists of enclosed plantations, and the remainder of open woods, bog, and heath.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288800.

Genealogy

Talbot, Mary.  The Windebanks of the new Forest.  Emma Harrison Windebank b. 15 March 1859 at New Forest, Union Workhouse.  Article has pictures of the Windebank family and history of the different family members dating from 1810-1941. Article is to be found in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 34, part no. 1, June 2007, pages 40-43. FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 534 times.