New Haven County, ConnecticutEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Connecticut Gotoarrow.png New Haven County

Guide to New Haven County Connecticut genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Connecticut
Online Records
New Haven County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting New Haven County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 2, 1785
County Seat New Haven
Courthouse
Address 235 Church Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: 203.787.7908
New Haven County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Town Clerks have birth, death and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records; Probate Court has probate records.[1]

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Branford 1639,
Cheshire 1780,
East Haven 1785,
Guilford 1639,
Hamden 1786,
Meriden 1796,
Millford 1639,
New Haven 1638,
North Haven 1786,
Oxford 1798,
Seymour 1672,
Southbury 1787,
South Derby 1675,
Wallingford 1670,
Waterbury 1686,
Wolcott 796,
Woodbridge 1784.

  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: New Haven County, Connecticut


Parent County

  • One of four original counties, created 10 May 1666 from the Colonial lands.[1]

Boundary Changes

2 May 1785: East part of the county was split off to form Middlesex County.

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

Places / Localities

ConnecticutNew Haven CountyFairfield CountyLitchfield CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyWolcottWaterburyMiddleburySouthburyOxfordSeymourDerbyAnsoniaOrangeWoodbridgeBethanyBeacon FallsNaugatuckMilfordProspectCheshireHamdenNew HavenWest HavenEast HavenNorth HavenWallingfordMeridenBranfordNorth BranfordGuilfordMadisonWestportFairfieldBridgeportStratfordSheltonTrumbullEastonWestonMonroeReddingBethelNewtonBrookfieldBridgewaterNew MilfordRoxburyWashingtonMorrisBethlehemWatertownWoodburyThomastownPlymouthBristolSouthingtonPlainvilleFarmingtonNew BritainBerlinNewingtonWethersfieldRocky HillGlastonburyMarborough=CromwellPortlandMiddletownEast HamptonE. HaddamHaddamChesterDeep RiverWestbrookClintonKillingworthDurhamMiddlefield
Modern towns and cities in New Haven County, Connecticut. Click map to go to each respective town page.


Cities:  Ansonia | Derby | Meriden | Milford | New Haven | Waterbury | West Haven

Towns

Borough:  Woodmont

Unincorporated communities:  Devon | Fair Haven | Heritage Village | Northford | Quaker Farms | Saybrook Manor | Short Beach | South Britain | Stony Creek | Waterville | Westville | Yalesville

Neighboring counties:  Fairfield | Hartford | Litchfield | Middlesex | New York counties:  Suffolk

Resources

Archives and Libraries

  • USGenWeb Connecticut Archives, New Haven County, (accessed 1 Mar 2011).
  • Historical Records Survey.  Connecticut. Inventory of the town and city archives of Connecticut, no. 5, New Haven County vol. viii, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Southbury, (New Haven, Connecticut : The Survey, 1938).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 A3h, or FHL US/CAN Film 897354 Item 2.

Bibles

Bible Records, USGenWeb CT Archives

Biographies

  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Dorothy A. DeBisschop, Historic personalities of the Lower Naugatuck Valley, ([S.I. : D.A. DeBisschop, 1971]).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 D3d.
  • J.L. Rockey, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (New York, New York : W.W. Preston, 1892).   Volume 1 available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), or at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2r.  Volume 2 is available on film, FHL US/CAN Film 845225 or 1000150.
  • J.H. Beers & Co., Commemorative biographical record of New Haven County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Ill. : J.H. Beers, 1902).  Includes index.  Available online at Internet Archives.  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 162012-162014.
  • Mary Hewitt Mitchell, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (Chicago, Illinois : Pioneer Historical Publishing, 1930).  Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 974.67 H2m v. 1-3, also FHL US/CAN Film 1320557 Items 1-3.
  • Munson, Myron A. 1637-1887, the Munson record, a genealogical and biographical account of Captain Thomas Munson, a pioneer of Hartford and New Haven, and his descendants (1896). Freely available online
  • Everett Gleason Hill, A modern history of New Haven and eastern New Haven County, (New York, New York : S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1918).  Includes index.  Volume 1 is available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), also at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).   Volume 2 is available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Volumes 1 and 2 are also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2h v. 1-2, or FHL US/CAN Film 1573599 Item 5.

Cemeteries

  • Cemeteries, USGenWeb CT Archives has links to transcriptions.
  • Charles R. Hale Collection of Connecticut Cemeteries and Inscriptions, New Haven County Cemetery Records, (accessed 25 Feb 2011).  This website has a collection of cemetery links, organized by town.
  • Connecticut Genealogy, New Haven County Cemetery Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
  • Connecticut Genealogy Trails, Cemeteries of New Haven County, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).  Alphabetical list by town, some links provided.
  • findagrave, New Haven County Cemeteries, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).  (295 listings)
  • Interment, New Haven County Cemetery Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). This site has published burial records for several New Haven County Cemeteries.
  • Linkpendium, Cemeteries, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • The Political Graveyard, (accessed 4 Mar 2011).  Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in New Haven County.
  • The Tombstone Transcription Project, (accessed 4 Mar 2011).  New Haven County, Connecticut.
  • USGenWebProject, New Haven County Cemeteries, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).  Lists the name and location of each cemetery, some links are provided.
  • James S. Hedden, General David Humphreys, Branch Number One, Connecticut Society, Sons of the American Revolution, 1931-1934, Roster of graves of, or monuments to, patriots of 1775-1783, and of soldiers of colonial wars in and adjacent to New Haven County, Connecticut.  Typescript (photocopy).  Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 M2h, or FHL US/CAN Fim 1421668 Item 9.
  • Alice Hubbard (Breed) Benton, Chairman, Committee on Genealogica Research, State of Florida, Daughters of the American, Florida genealogical collection, 1932 [vol. 2], (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1971).  Microfilm of typescript (carbon copy, 103 leaves) at the National Library of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Washington, D.C.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 850401 Item 2.
  • New Haven (Connecticut). Town Clerk, Proceedings of the city of New Haven in the removal of monuments from the ancient burying grounds and the opening of a new ground for burial, (Washington [District of Columbia] : L.C. Photoduplication Service, 1986).  Microreproduction of original published: New Haven, Conn. : Gray & Hewit, 1822. 32 p., [1] folded leaf of plates : 1 map.  In 1820, the Civil Council authorized the movement of the old cemetery to a new locality. This booklet includes this authorization, as well as the following: (1) a list of the deceased who monuments are covered by the centre church; (2) a list of those whose monuments were recently removed; (3) names of first purchasers of family lots in the new burying-ground; (4) plan of New Haven burying ground (folded map). The lists are alphabetical in various groupings.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1454552 Item 1.

Census

For tips on accessing New Haven County, Connecticut census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

  • Connecticut Genealogy, New Haven County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes church and vital records.
  • Frederick John Kingsbury, A narrative and documentary history of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, formerly St. James, of Waterbury, Connecticut with some notice of St. Paul's Church, Plymouth, Christ Church, Waterbury, St. Michael's Church, Naugatuck, a church in Middlebury, All Saint's Church, Wolcott, St. Paul's Church, Waterville, Trinity Church, Waterbury, All Colonies of St. John's, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price Lee & Adkins Co., 1907).  Includes index.  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67/W1 K2k.
  • 1749-1795 - Scofield, Ethel Lord. "The Baptismal Record of the Societies of Whitehaven and Fairhaven, Now the United Church (Congregational), New Haven, Conn.," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan. 1911):28-50. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 42.

Court Records

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Waterbury suburban city directory including Middlebury, Terryville, Thomaston, Watertown, and Wolcott, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Company, 1940?-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pws.
  • Prospect city directory including Beacon Falls, Bethany, Oxford, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Co., 1976-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pp.
  • Ansonia, Derby, Shelton, Seymour directory combining five distinct directories: governmental directory, buyers directory, alphabetical directory, numerical directory, classified directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1931-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pa.

Divorce Records

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce Papers, 1712-1899, Manuscript/On Film. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1672069 Item 2. (56 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce papers, no appearance files, 1808-1900, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).  A record of divorce cases which were withdrawn or discontinued. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1673026 Item 2. (9 films)

Gazetteers

New Haven County, Gazetteer, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

Genealogy

  • Doris B. Townsend, Townshend heritage a genealogical, biographical history of the Townshend family and of their old homestead on the east shore of New Haven harbor, (New Haven [Connecticut] : New Haven Colony Historical Society, c1971).   Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929. 273 T666td.
  • Charles E. Booth, New Haven genealogy, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Genealogical Society of Utah, [19--]).  Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 930122 Item 2.

History

  • William Cothren, History of ancient Woodbury, Connecticut from the first Indian deed in 1659 ... including the present towns of Washington, Southbury, Bethlem, Roxbury, and a part of Oxford and Middlebury, (Waterbury, Connecticut : Bronson Brothers, 1854-1879).  Photocopies of originals.  Vols. 2-3 have imprint: Woodbury, Conn. : W. Cothren, 1872-1879. Includes indexes. Vols. 1-2 contain history and genealogy, vol. 3 contains vital records, including those for ancient Stratford.  Available online, Volume 1 : Internet Archives, (accessed 1 Mar 2011), and Volume 2, pt. 1: Google Books, (accessed 1 Mar 2011), and Volume 2, pt. 2: Internet Archives, (accessed 1 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 H2cw v. 1 and 2, and Volume 1, FHL US/CAN Film 2055359 Item 4 and Volume 2-3: FHL US/CAN Film 6181 Items 2-3.
  • Edward R. Lambert, History of the colony of New Haven, before and after the union with Connecticut containing a particular description of the towns which composed that government, viz., New Haven, Milford, Guilford, Branford, Stamford and Southold, L.I., with a notice of the towns which have been set off from "the original six", (Milford, Connecticut : Rotary Club, 1976).  "A genealogical sketch of the Lambert family of Milford, Conn.": p. 205-216.  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), and at Long Island Genealogy, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/Can Book 974.6 H2Le 1976, or FHL US/CAN Film 1036748 Item 10.
  • James L. Kingsley, Historical discourse, delivered by request before the citizens of New Haven, April 25, 1838, the two hundredth anniversary of the first settlement of the town and colony, (Washington [District of Columbia] : Library of Congress, Photoduplication Service, 1988).  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  A database for this  book is online at ancestry.com$, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1550137.
  • Richard Hegel, Nineteenth century historians of New Haven, (Hamden, Connecticut : Archon Books, c1972).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2hr.
  • New Haven Colony Historical Society, Papers of the New Haven Colony Historical Society, (New Haven [Connecticut] : New Haven Colony Historical Society, 1865-).  The New Haven Colony included the towns of New Haven, Milford, Guilford, Stamford, Southhold, and Branford.  Volume 3, (accessed 2 Mar 2022), available online at Google Books.  Volume 8, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), available online at Internet Archives.  Volume 9, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), online at Internet Archives.  All volumes are available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 H2pn, some are books and some are only on film.
  • History files, USGenWeb CT Archives
  • Linkpendium, History, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Google Timeline, New Haven, Connecticut History 1600-2011, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

See the Biography section for further sources.

Indexes

  • Decatur Genealogical Society, Index to History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (Decatur, Illinois : Decatur Genealogical Society (Illinois), 1989).  Every-name indexes to original volumes published: New York : W. W. Preston & Co., 1892. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2r v. 1 and 2 index.

Land and Property

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, New Haven County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1852 and 1856, (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983). 1852 map available online at flickr from yahoo, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301, and FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301.

Maps

  • Maps of Connecticut (1643-1960)
  • Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Maps, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Organized by State and County.  Links to road maps, county outlines, colored outlines and lists of towns.
  • Linkpendium, Maps and Gazetteers, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • F.W. Beers & Co. and A.B. Prindle, Atlas of New Haven County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1973).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 924435 Item 1.

Ctnewhaven.jpg

Military Records

American Revolution
  • Individual Records of the American Revolution, USGenWeb CT Archives
  • James Spencer Hedden and Sons of the American Revolution. General David Humphries Branch, Roster of graves of, or monuments to, patriots of 1775-1783, and of soldiers of colonial wars in and adjacent to New Haven County, Connecticut, Typescript (photocopy).  Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 M2h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421668 Item 9.
Civil War

Service men from New Haven County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from New Haven County.

  1. 1st Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff, Band and Company A,B, D and F.
  2. 2nd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Infantry Company C and D. Rifle Company F.
  3. 3rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field and Staff, Infantry Company B and D. Rifle Company B and C. 
  4. 1st Regiment Connecticut Cavalry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, K, L, M and Unassigned Recruits.
  5. 1st Light Battery Connecticut Volunteers
  6. 1st Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff and Band, Company B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L, and M.
  7. 2nd Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Company A, B, C, D, G, I, M and Unassigned Recruits.
  8. 5th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D and F.
  9. 6th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field, Staff and Band, Company C, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
  10. 7th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D, F, and K.
  11. 8th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, D, E, F, I and K.
  12. 9th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, E, F, K and Unassigned Recruits.
  13. 10th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, E, F, H, I and Unassigned Recruits.
  14. 11th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D, E, G, I and K.
  15. 12th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, C, F and Unassigned Recruits.
  16. 13th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B, D, and H.
  17. 14th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
  18. 15th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, F, G, H, I and K.
  19. 18th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D.
  20. 20th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, E, F, G, I and K.
  21. 23rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, F, and H.
  22. 24th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company H and I.
  23. 27th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, H, I and K.
  24. 29th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry (Colored) - Company A, B, H and K.
  25. 30th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B and C.
World War I and World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Naturalization records (New Haven, New Haven, Connecticut), 1874-1877, 1906-1923, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Includes index.  Contains records of declarations of intent for persons from the city of New Haven, or from towns in New Haven County.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398567 Item 6. (12 Films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (Meriden), Petitions and records of naturalization (Meriden, New Haven, Connecticut), 1903-1939, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Items 2-3. (8 Films)
  • United States. Circuit Court and District Court (Connecticut District),  Naturalization records (New Haven County, Connecticut), 1906-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007-2008).  Includes index in some volumes.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2421323 Item 1. (92 Films)

Indexes

  • Scott, Kenneth. "Some New Haven County, Connecticut Naturalizations, 1803-1844," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 71 (1983):217-219. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 71 (1983).
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to declarations filed, 1844-1923, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns. FHL US/CAN Film 1398571. (6 films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to petitions filed, 1843-1923, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Item 4. (3 films)
  • United States Circuit Court ; United States District Court, Index to naturalization records, New Haven, CT, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2004).  Index is in alphabetical order by surname.  Includes name, age, country of birth, name of court, date issued, volume and page number.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2370600. (18 Films)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Photographs

Probate Records

Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Districts, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

  • Death Records, USGenWeb CT Archives
  • Linkpendium, Vital Records, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • New Haven County (Connecticut). Coronor, Coroner's records, Waterbury District, 1917-1931, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602525 Item 3, first of 4 films.
  • New Haven County (Connecticut). Coronor, Coroner's records, 1883-1932, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988-1989).  Indexes are found within most volumes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602852 Items 2-3. (20 films)
  • Daughters of the American Revolution. Oneida Chapter, Volume 6: Bible, cemetery and church records, 1746-1927, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1435718 Item 1.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:25.
  • This page has been accessed 18,135 times.