New Jersey CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  New Jersey  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online New Jersey indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of New Jersey 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1830-1895

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of New Jersey 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1895 State indexes - - - - - Link  Link  Link  - -
images - - - - - Link  Link  Link  - -
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Copies of these censuses can be found in the following repositories: National Archives and all of its regional centers, Family History Library, New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey State Archives, Newark Public Library, Rutgers University Library and the New Jersey State Library.


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870 
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850




Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1900 T623and Soundex T1060 1860 M653
1930 T626 1890 fragments M407 and index M496 1850 M432
1920 T625 and Soundex M1576 1880 T9 and Soundex T763 1840 M704 
1910 T624 1870 M593 1830 M19

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of New Jersey, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for New Jersey

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - - - Link Link Link
1880 Defective - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

  • United States. Census Office. 11th Census, 1890. Schedules Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War. File Microcopies of Records in the National Archives, number 123. Washington, DC: National Archives, 1948. (Family History Library films 338200-202.)
  • United States. Census Office. Census of New Jersey, 1850-1880; Third Series (of Persons Who Died During the Years Ending 30 June 1850, 1 June 1860; 1 June 1870; 31 May 1880. Trenton, New Jersey: State Library of Archives and History, Department of Education, 1996. (Family History Library films 802952-55.) The 1880 schedules are for Atlantic to Hudson counties only.

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of New Jersey, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

New Jersey often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

The original records and microfilm copies of state censuses are at the New Jersey State Archives. Copies of the 1905 and 1915 censuses are also at the New Jersey Department of Health. The Newark Public Library, New Jersey State Library, Rutgers University Library, and Family History Library have microfilm copies of all New Jersey state censuses. State censuses were taken beginning in 1855. Some records are missing, as indicated below:

  • 1885, 1895, 1905, 1915 - All counties are available.
  • 1875 - Only Sussex and Essex counties are available.
  • 1865 - Missing Cape May, Mercer, Morris, Ocean, Somerset, and Warren counties and incomplete for the others.
  • 1855 - Missing Burlington, Cape May, Mercer, Middlesex, Ocean, and Salem counties and incomplete for the others.
  • 1693 A special census was taken of Swedes who were associated with the Swedish Lutheran Church and who were living in Pennsylvania, Delaware, west New Jersey, and Cecil County, Maryland. The census and an index to it are in Craig, Peter Stebbins. The 1693 Census of the Swedes on the Delaware. Winter Park, Florida: SAG Publications, 1993. (Family History Library book 973 X4c.)
  • 1671 New Castle County, Delaware; Philadelphia and Delaware counties in Pennsylvania; and Burlington County, New Jersey.[9]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing New Jersey censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. Peter Stebbins Craig, 1671 Census of the Delaware (Philadelphia, Pa.: Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, 1999)[FHL Book 974 X2c 1671].

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 July 2012, at 16:17.
  • This page has been accessed 17,838 times.