New Jersey GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
|News and Events|
|Genealogical Society of New Jersey Events|
|New Jersey Topics|
Welcome to New Jersey,
the Garden State
Most unique genealogical features:
- NJ censuses 1790-1820 are missing
- Wills are one of the best NJ records
- Many 1702-1738 NJ wills are filed in New York City, or Albany, New York
- Early NJ records exist as part of both New Sweden and New Netherland
- Some NJ couples went away to New York City, Kings Co, NY, Philadelphia, Delaware, Cecil Co, MD, or Niagara Falls, Ontario to marry
- If orthodox methods fail, try an alternate state, county, denomination, time period, generation, publication, or name spelling.
|How to Find Information about New Jersey Ancestors|
New Jersey Counties
New Jersey State Archives · New Jersey State Library · New Jersey Historical Society · Camden County Historical Society · Gloucester County Historical Society · Jewish Historical Society of Central Jersey · Morristown and Morris Township Library · Newark Public Library · Princeton University Firestone Library · Rowan University Campbell Library · Rutgers University Alexander Library · Seton Hall University Libraries · Historical Society of Pennsylvania · National Archives at Philadelphia · National Archives at New York City · New York Public Library
Ellis Island · Atlantic Coast Ports · Delaware Indian Path or King's Highway · Delaware River · Passaic River · Raritan River · Great Shamokin Path · King's Highway or Delaware Indian Path · Lincoln Highway · Delaware and Raritan Canal · Morris Canal
Did you know?
- The colonial censuses taken in 1726, 1738, 1745, and 1772, as well as the New Jersey portions of the United States censuses of 1790, 1800, 1810 and 1820, were destroyed. Various other records can substitute for censuses. These include lists of petitioners, residents, freeholders, quit renters, jurists, voters, and taxpayers. Many of these lists have been published in periodicals. For a helpful guide in locating these lists, refer to The United States Census Compendium by John D. Stemmons (Logan, Utah: Everton Publishers, 1973.) The book is available at the Family History Library on microfiche and in book form.
- Collections of New Jersey maps and atlases are available at numerous public and university libraries and historical societies. The New Jersey Historical Society has a large collection of more than 2,000 maps, and the state library has several hundred maps and atlases from the seventeenth century to the present.
- Join our group of New Jersey researchers on Facebook & Skype
- New Jersey County Creation Dates and Parent Counties
- How to order New Jersey Vital Records
- Researching New Jersey Census Records
- State of New Jersey County & City Government Court records
- Research in New Jersey Military Records
- New Jersey Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of New Jersey Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of New Jersey Counties
- New Jersey GenWeb Project provides county information about formation date, parent county, county seat, bibliography, cemeteries, census, churches, towns, history, look ups, obituaries, queries, repositories, surname registry, and many Internet links.
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
- For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Genealogists' Guide -- The New Jersey Historical Society.
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - New Jersey
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- New Jersey Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Jersey County Marriage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Jersey 1885 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Jersey Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Jersey Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- ↑ Kenn Stryker-Rodda, "That Genealogical Quagmire: New Jersey," National Genealogical Society Quarterly 48 (1960): 67. (FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 48) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Kenn Stryker-Rodda, New Jersey: Digging for Ancestors in the Garden State (Detroit, Mich.: Detroit Society for Genealogical Research, 1984), 9-10. (FHL Book 974.9 A1 no. 2) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Claire Keenan Agthe, Research in New Jersey, NGS Special Publication Number 94 (Arlington, Va.: National Genealogical Society, 2009), 8-10. (FHL Book 974.9 D27a) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Arlene H. Eakle, "Have you searched and searched for a marriage without finding it?" in Genealogy Blog at http://www.arleneeakle.com/wordpress/2007/02/19/have-you-searched-and-searched-for-the-marriage-without-finding-it/ (accessed 8 January 2011).
- ↑ Stryker-Rhoda, "That Genealogical Quagmire: New Jersey," 65. "Many from New Jersey went out of the colony to be married or to have children baptized, primarily to the Dutch churches in New York and Kings County, to the First Presbyterian Church of New York, and to various churches in Philadelphia and Delaware."
- ↑ Stryker-Rhoda, "That Genealogical Quagmire: New Jersey," 69-70.
- ↑ Stryker-Rhoda, New Jersey: Digging for Ancestors in the Garden State, 5.
- This page was last modified on 17 September 2015, at 14:04.
- This page has been accessed 133,282 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News