New Jersey IntroductionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  New Jersey  Gotoarrow.png  Introduction

This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from New Jersey. As you read this outline, study the United States set of Wiki pages, which will help you understand terminology and the contents and uses of genealogical records.

Records of the Family History Library

The Family History Library has many of the records described in these New Jersey Wiki pages. These records are from the National Archives and its regional centers, the state archives, county courthouses, church archives, university libraries, and historical societies. Though the Family History Library has microfilm copies of some twentieth century records, most microfilm copies are of pre-1900 records.

The library's major holdings include census, military, vital, land, probate, and naturalization records for most areas. The library also has a comprehensive collection of published and manuscript genealogies of New Jersey families. There are also statewide indexes to probate records, early land records, censuses, vital records, tax records, and military records.

Unfortunately, nearly all census records from 1790 to 1820 and some early county records for Gloucester, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, and Somerset counties no longer exist. However, the tax records and their indexes help make up for the missing census records. Researching New Jersey ancestors may require the use of some unusual sources, such as tavern licenses, cattle earmarks, and road surveys.

Some of the sources described in this set of Wiki pages list the Family History Library's book, microfilm, and microfiche. These are preceded by FHL, the abbreviation for Family History Library. You can use these numbers to locate materials in the library and to order microfilm and microfiche at Family History Centers.

FamilySearch Catalog

The library's records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog found at the library and at each Family History Center. The catalog is available in a online or microfiche version. To find a record, look in the Place Search of the catalog for:

  • The place where your ancestor lived, such as:
UNITED STATES - CENSUS
NEW JERSEY - GENEALOGY
NEW JERSEY, ESSEX - PROBATE RECORDS
NEW JERSEY, ESSEX, NEWARK - CHURCH RECORDS

  • The record type you want to search, such as:
UNITED STATES - CENSUS
NEW JERSEY - GENEALOGY
NEW JERSEY, ESSEX - PROBATE RECORDS
NEW JERSEY, ESSEX, NEWARK - CHURCH RECORDS

The page titles in the New Jersey Wiki pages match the names of record types used in the catalog.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,118 times.