New Kent County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a county in the state of Virginia. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation).

United States go to Virginia go to New Kent County

Guide to New Kent County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records
New Kent County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of New Kent County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting New Kent County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1654
County Seat New Kent
Courthouse

Contents

New Kent County, Virginia Courthouse

New Kent County Courthouse, New Kent, Va.
 

New Kent County Courthouse
P.O. Box 98
12001 Courthouse Circle
New Kent, VA 23124-0098
Phone: 804-966-9520

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce,
probate, Court and land records from 1808 [1]

Beginning Dates for New Kent County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1854 1853 1810 1865 1864

New Kent County, Virginia History

This Virginia county takes its name from the county of Kent in SE England.

The county is named after the English County of Kent. There was a Quaker settlement in Colonial New Kent County.

Parent County

1654--New Kent County was created 20 November 1654 from York and James City Counties.
County seat: New Kent [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
War.jpg
1787, 1862, and 1865 New Kent County has suffered heavy record loss. An arson attack by John Posey destroyed most colonial records on 15 July 1787. During the Civil War some records were destroyed during hostilities at the courthouse in 1862. The surviving records were moved to Richmond for safekeeping, but were destroyed by the fire of 3 April 1865.[3] [4]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

Weisiger abstracted a valuable source that includes deed, will, and marriage information about New Kent County, Virginia residents:

  • Weisiger, Benjamin B. Burned County Data 1809-1848 As Found in the Virginia Contested Election Files. Richmond, Va., 1986. FHL Book 975.5 P2w.[5]

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

New Kent County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

New Kent County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For New Kent County, see p. 62]

African American


Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-18721

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

  • Bible Records [1822-1860] of John H. Christian of New Kent County, Son of Gideon and Lucy Christian. Transcript, 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40  
  • Chapman Bible Records [ca. 1809-1926], New Kent County. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • Smithie, Hannah More Moore and Martha Dandridge Woman's Club (New Kent County, Virginia). Bible Records Collected by the Martha Dandridge Woman's Club, New Kent County, Virginia. Typescript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40 
  • Taylor Bible Records [1802-1912], New Kent Co. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • Turner, Bell Woodward. John Ratcliffe's Bible [Records, ca. 1814-1841], New Kent County, Va. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40 

Cemeteries

  • Tyler, Lyon G. "Old Tombstones in New Kent County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Oct. 1896):77-81. Digital version at JSTOR - free.


Census

For tips on accessing New Kent County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 6,239
1800 6,363 2.0%
1810 6,478 1.8%
1820 6,630 2.3%
1830 6,458 −2.6%
1840 6,230 −3.5%
1850 6,064 −2.7%
1860 5,884 −3.0%
1870 4,381 −25.5%
1880 5,515 25.9%
1890 5,511 −0.1%
1900 4,865 −11.7%
1910 4,682 −3.8%
1920 4,541 −3.0%
1930 4,300 −5.3%
1940 4,092 −4.8%
1950 3,995 −2.4%
1960 4,504 12.7%
1970 5,300 17.7%
1980 8,781 65.7%
1990 10,445 19.0%
2000 13,462 28.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Black Creek (1777)[6]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

New Kent County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Church of England

Gotoarrow.png See also Blisland Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. John's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Paul's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Peter's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Stephen's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Stratton Major Parish

Presbyterian

Providence Forge Church (originally met at St. Peter's, later called Olivet Church) was organized around 1750. Records have been microfilmed FHL Film 1490377 Items 16-19.

Quaker

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Black Creek Monthly Meeting (1691-1805)[7]

Court

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images to New Kent County, Virginia Chancery Records 1848-1956 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

More than 450 genealogies have been published about New Kent County families. To view a list, visit New Kent County, Virginia Genealogy.

Immigration

Headright grants identify many New Kent County, Virginia immigrants who arrived before 1720.[8] The Virginia Immigration article provides tips about using this source.

Additional resources include:

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of St. Peter's Parish, Stratton Major Parish, and New Kent County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Land and Property

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes New Kent County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Local Histories

  • Harris, Malcolm Hart. Old New Kent County, Some Account of the Planters, Plantations, and Places in ... 2 vols. West Point, Va.: M.H. Harris, 1977. FHL Collection 975.5 H2har v. 1

Maps

Migration

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. New Kent County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:121.]

Military

Colonial Militia
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For New Kent County, see p. 96.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers; see place name index.]
French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in New Kent County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. New Kent County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, New Kent County on page 132.]
War of 1812

New Kent County men served in the 52nd Regiment.[9]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, New Kent County, p. 92. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in New Kent County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


Regiments. Service men in New Kent County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in New Kent County, Virginia:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (New Kent Cavalry or Light Dragoons).[11]

Records and histories are available, including:

Native American

The Pamunkeys Tribe, Chickahominies Tribe, Mattaponeys Tribe, Rappahannocks Tribe, and Totas-Chees Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[12]

Naturalization

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local New Kent County, Virginia newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations

Providence Forge was constructed in the 1760s.[13]

Private Papers

Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007.

Probate Records

Local Court

Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes New Kent County.]

London Courts

Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of St. Peter's Parish, Stratton Major Parish, and New Kent County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

County Court

  • Digital Images of New Kent County Wills 1864-1887. See Names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • Digital Images of New Kent County Wills 1880-1938. See Names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • [1704] "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [New Kent County appears in 31:215-235.]
  • [1782] New Kent Co. Land Tax - 1782 (VAGenWeb) - free.
  • [1782] New Kent County, Virginia 1782 Land (Binns Genealogy) - free.
  • [1782] Smith, Paulette. New Kent County, Virginia Land Tax Records, 1782 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • [1782] Land Tax Records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Aug. 1993); Vol. 2, No. 3 (Nov. 1993). Available at FHL.
  • [1782-1820] Heinegg, Paul. "New Kent County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1784] New Kent County, Virginia 1784 Personal Property (Binns Genealogy) - free.
  • [1788] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1788 personal property tax list. New Kent County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • [1789] Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. New Kent County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:121.]
  • [1790, 1800] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Land Tax Lists of New Kent County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1791, 1800] Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of New Kent County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1800] Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan. 2000); Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr. 2000).
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. New Kent County is included in Vol. 1.]

Vital Records

Indexes to New Kent County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Marriage
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

New Kent County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

New Kent County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

New Kent County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Kent County, Virginia. Page 718 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Cameron Allen, "A Surname Used As a Given Name: Toward the Identification of Elizabeth (?Tinsley), Wife of Drury Allen (1714-1803), of Hanover County, Virginia," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):267-279.
  4. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 3, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  5. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
  6. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  7. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  8. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Cavaliers and Pioneers," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):221. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 24 (1980)
  9. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 150. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  11. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  12. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  13. "Providence Forge," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jul. 1896):20-22. Digital version at JSTOR - free.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:19.
  • This page has been accessed 34,192 times.