New Malton St Leonard, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Malton

New Malton St Leonard, Yorkshire
St Leonard Malton Yorkshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Malton PLU
Registration District Malton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600; For more records see Old Malton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

New Malton St Leonard was formed as a chapelry to Old Malton, Yorkshire.

There is a ring of eight bells, cast in the year 1768 by Lester & Pack of London, with the following inscriptions: (1) 'I hope to make it understood, That tho' I'm little yet I'm good'; (2) 'If you have a judicious ear, You'll own my voice is sweet and clear'; (3) 'Such wond'rous pow'r to music's given, It elevates the soul to Heaven'; (4) 'Good people all who hear me ring, Be faithful to your God and King'; (5) 'Whilst thus we join in cheerful sound, May love and loyalty abound'; (6) 'My worthy donor's name is Finch, I'll sound his praise and never flinch'; (7) 'Tell it in Country and in Town, My patriot tongue proclaims me "Doune"'; (8) 'Ye sons of liberty revere my name, And glory in the sound of "Rockinghame."'

The plate consists of a silver cup, paten and flagon and a pewter cup. The silver cup bears the inscription, 'Peter Walmsley Minister, Robert Stockell, Jos. Thorp Chappelwardens, Anno Christi 1742.' The paten, flagon and pewter cup are modern. The paten was presented by Mrs. W. Metcalfe on Easter Day, 1873, and the flagon was presented by Edward and Mary Rose in memory of their eldest son Raymond Percy Rose in 1879.

The registers begin in 1600.

In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Malton like this:

Malton, market town, East-Riding and North-Riding Yorkshire, on river Derwent, 22 miles NE. of York and 210 miles N. of London by rail, 6855 ac., pop. 8754; P.O., T.O., 3 Banks, 2 newspapers. Market-day, Saturday. The town includes Old Malton and New Malton pars., in the North-Riding, and Norton par., in the East-Riding. Malton proper is connected with Norton by a bridge over the river, which here flows through a pleasant valley. Malton was probably the Derventio of the Romans. In the reign of Stephen it was burnt down by the Archbishop of York, and when rebuilt was called New Malton. An extensive trade is carried on, principally by breweries, maltings, foundries, corn mills, and agricultural implement works. Quarries for lime and whinstone are in the vicinity, and have a large output. At Old Malton are remains of a priory founded 1150. Malton returned 1 member to Parliament until 1885.

The church of St Leonard now known as St Leonard with St Mary Malton was transferred by gift as an ecumenical gesture from the Anglican Diocese of York to the Roman Catholic church in 1971.

See also Malton Wikipedia

MALTON, or New Malton, an ancient borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York, 18 miles (N. E. by N.) from York, and 213 (N. by W.) from London; containing, with the parish of Old Malton, 5317 inhabitants, of whom 4021 are in Malton. Malton comprises the parishes of St. Leonard and St. Michael.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of NEW MALTON ST LEONARD exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
NEW MALTON ST LEONARD PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None
1817-1900
1759-1836
JOIN None

1600-1837

None

AC None
None
None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464236.

Poor Law Unions

Malton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,683 times.