New Mexico GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to New Mexico ancestry, family history and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
New Mexico, Land of Enchantment
|How to Find Information about New Mexico Ancestors|
Bernalillo · Catron · Chaves · Cibola · Colfax · Curry · De Baca · Dona Ana · Eddy · Grant · Guadalupe · Harding · Hidalgo · Lea · Lincoln · Los Alamos · Luna · McKinley · Mora · Otero · Quay · Rio Arriba · Roosevelt · San Juan · San Miguel · Sandoval · Santa Fe · Sierra · Socorro · Taos · Torrance · Union · Valencia
See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona for further details.
New Mexico State Library · New Mexico State Records Center and Archives · Special Collections Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Library · Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Santa Fe · Fray Angélico Chávez History Library · Center for Southwest Research (UNM) · New Mexico State University Library Rio Grande Historical Collections · National Hispanic Cultural Center · Rio Grande Valley Library · National Archives Rocky Mountain Region (Denver) · Family History Library
Pecos River · Rio Grande · Butterfield Overland Mail · Camino Real de Tierra Adentro · Old Spanish Trail · Santa Fe Trail · Atlantic and Pacific Railroad · Santa Fe Railway · Southern Pacific Railroad · Texas and Pacific Railway
Many military records are found at the Family History Library, the National Archives, and other federal and state archives. United States provides more information about the federal records.
The New Mexico Records Center and Archives has muster rolls, cemetery records, and files of the Adjutant General's office from 1848 to 1945. Read more...
Originally known as a part of Aztlan [the land of the north]. Home of the ancestors of many native american and hispanic populations.
- 1598 - El Reino de Nuevo Mexico, Nueva Espana [The Kingdom of New Mexico, New Spain]. Look for Spanish land records and Spanish census record. See also Camino Real de Tierra Adentro
- 1821 - Territorio de Nuevo Mexico, Mexico [The Territory of New Mexico, Mexico]. Look for Mexican records
- 1848 - The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo transferred much of the southwest to the United States
- 1850 - 1st United States Federal Census in New Mexico Territory
- 1912 - New Mexico becomes the 47th state in the United States
Did You Know?
- The best collection of published biographies in New Mexico is at the New Mexico State Library.
- The Family History Library has some biographies. Read more...
- Gretna Greens. When a New Mexico couple's marriage is not in their home county, search for it in alternate places like Las Vegas, Clark, Nevada, or Yuma, Yuma, Arizona.
- Find which county a town is in, what town a cemetery is in, even where a postoffice or building is by using the United States Geographical Survey's Geographical Names Information System.
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- State of New Mexico County & City Government Court links
- Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
- The New Mexico GenWeb Project has a wealth of information and is a part of the larger USGenWeb Project. The USGenWeb Project provides internet information on every county in every state in the United States.
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of New Mexico Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of New Mexico Counties
- Place Names of New Mexico by Robert Julyan gives a short explanation about the towns and cities in New Mexico. ISBN: 0-8263-1689-1
- Origins of New Mexico Families, A Genealogy of the Spanish Colonial Period by Fray Angelico Chavez (Museum of New Mexico Press, 1992): lists information about the founding families of Hispanic New Mexico for the 17th and 18th centuries. ISBN: 0-89013-239-0.
- BYU New Mexico Research Outline largely duplicates these Wiki pages. Includes some bibliographic lists from BYU Library, 2001.
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - New Mexico
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
External LinksNew Mexico Genealogical Society
Wiki articles describing online collecions are found at:
- New Mexico Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Mexico, County Death Records FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Mexico Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Mexico Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- New Mexico Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things You Can Do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- ↑ Arlene H. Eakle, "Have you searched and searched for a marriage without finding it?" in Genealogy Blog at http://www.arleneeakle.com/wordpress/2007/02/19/have-you-searched-and-searched-for-the-marriage-without-finding-it/ (accessed 8 January 2011).
- This page was last modified on 11 August 2015, at 18:20.
- This page has been accessed 126,900 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News