New Radford, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

New Radford, Nottinghamshire
Cinderhill Christ Church Nottinghamshire.jpg
Cinderhill Christ Church Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Radford PLU
Registration District Radford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


RADFORD (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the wapentake of Broxton, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1 mile (W. by N.) from Nottingham. This parish, which was part of the ancient forest of Sherwood. The old village is situated on the river Leen; the new one forms a modern suburb stretching from the western limits of Nottingham, on the Derby and Alfreton roads. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Radford's development created a number of parishes in New Radford and this page may refer to more than one parish:

Christ Church Cinderhill is within the New Radford area and was built as a chapel of ease to Basford, Nottinghamshire  and the subsequent ecclesiastical parish  included Kensington, New Coleorton, and part of Hyson-Green Gazeteer reference to the parish

Southwell and Nottingham Church history project have researched this parish Cinderhill Christ Church


The church of Christ Church Cinderhill Nuthall Road has been designated as a grade II listed building listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Radford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438906.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Radford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Radford or New Radford in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.

Christ Church Cinderhill


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:32.
  • This page has been accessed 933 times.