New Romney with Hope, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to New Romney with Hope, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


New Romney with Hope, Kent
New Romney St Nicholas Kent.jpg
New Romney St Nicholas Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662; Separate registers exist for Hope beginning 1589
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

New Romney is a small town in Romney Marsh in the Shepway district of Kent, see New Romney Wikipedia

New Romney St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of themodern parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish Church of St Nicholas, Church Road, New Romney has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted 'The town and port of New Romney', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 446-464. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches

The ruined church of Hope All Saints and parish were incorporated into the parish of St Mary in the Marsh, Kent in 1934. The Ruins of the Church of All Saints Hope, St Mary in the Marsh have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Edward Hasted 'Parishes: Hope All Saints', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 415-420 at British History Online

New Romney Methodist Church, High Street, New Romney is part of South Kent Methodist Circuit see Church website



Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

ROMNEY, NEW (St. Nicholas), a decayed market-town, a cinque-port, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Romney-Marsh, E. division of Kent, 34 miles (S. E.) from Maidstone, and 68 (S. E. by E.) from London. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

New Romney with Hope, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[4]
New Romney with Hope, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

FS PRs 1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1813-1901 1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1838-1876 1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1803-1843
MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers are held at Kent History and Library Centre.

Land Tax

Images for New Romney are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1689-1832

Images for Hope 1780-1831

The hundred of Langport See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Langport: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 415 at British History Online

Census records

Census returns for New Romney 1841-1891

Census returns for Hope All Saints 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 690-695. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014. Described as two separate parishes: 'New Romney' and 'Hope All Saints.'

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 18:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,257 times.