New Shoreham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to New Shoreham, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Shoreham, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHOREHAM, NEW (St. Mary), a borough, markettown, sea-port, and parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 23 miles (E.) from Chichester, and 56 (S. by W.) from London;  The Independents and Wesleyans have each a place of worship. There were anciently a priory for Carmelites, or White friars, founded by Sir John Mowbray.[1]


The town and port of New Shoreham dates from the time of the Norman Conquest and is a town and civil parish in the Adur district of West Sussex.

The Ancient Parish church of St Mary de Heura St Mary de Haura Church Shoreham-by-Sea Wikipedia dates in part from that time and Sussex Parish Churches includes the history of the church St Mary de Heura Shoreham

The church of St Mary de Heura has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks contains a history of the church

Other places of worship in Shoreham-By-Sea are described

Baptist Chapel
Countess of Huntingdon
Primitive Methodist Chapel
Primitive Methodist Church, High Street
Providence Strict Baptist Chapel
St Peter (Roman Catholic) St Peter Roman Catholic Church Ship Street Shoreham on Sea
Wesleyan Chapel, New Road
Wesleyan Methodist Church Shoreham on Sea Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) and at list of places of worship in Adur Wikipedia

From this parish Shoreham Beach developed as a parish. Shoreham Beach Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and Church of the Good Shepherd Shoreham Beach

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

New Shoreham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
New Shoreham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1566-1901
1565-1901
1566-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shoreham, New

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/NewShoreham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 87-90. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 14:43.
  • This page has been accessed 969 times.