New York CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to United States Census go to New York go toCensus

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy and/or save a digital copy of each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.
  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online New York indexes and images

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of New York 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link
Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link -
Link
1920 indexes Link -
- Link Link Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link -
Link
1910 indexes Link -
- Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1905 State indexes Link -
- - - - - -
-
-
images Link -
- - - - - -
-
-
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1892 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link -
-
images Link - - - - - - -
-
-
partial 1890 indexes Link - Link Link - Link Link Link -
-
images Link - - Link  - Link Link Link -
-
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1875 State indexes - - - - - - - -
-
-
images Link - - - - - - -
-
-
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1865 State indexes - - - - - - - -
-
-
images Link - - - - - - -
-
-
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
Link
images -
Link - Link Link Link Link Link -
Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1840 indexes Link
- - - - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link
Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1830 indexes Link
- - - - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link
Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1820 indexes Link
- - Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link
Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
partial 1810 indexes Link
- -  Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link
Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1800 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link -
Link
1790 indexes Link - Link[8] Link - Link Link Link Link
-
images Link Link - Link  - Link Link Link -
Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

1791-1930 The National Archives and Records Administration and its regional centers, the Family History Library, the New York Public Library, and the New York State Library have microfilm copies of the U.S. federal censuses of New York for 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930. The original county copies of the federal censuses, 1850–1880, are normally at the county clerk's offices. These copies are more accurate than the federal copies. The Family History Library has county copies on microfilm.

New York Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1790 1820 1850 1880 1910
1800 1830 1860 1890 1920
1810 1840 1870 1900 1930


New York Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1790 M637 1830 M19 1870 M593 1920 T625 and Soundex M1578
1800 M32 1840 M704 1880 T9 and Soundex T765 1930 T626
1810 M252 1850 M432 1900 T623 and Soundex T1062 1940 N/A
1820 M33 1860 M653 1910 T624

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of New York, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for New York

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Family
Search[1]
Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest[3] Ancestry FHL ed.[5] Ancestry Library ed. [5] Ancestry Home ed.[5]
1890 Veterans Images - - - Link Link Link
1880 Defective - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners - BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

    Microfilm images

New York Federal Non-Population Schedule Microfilms at the Family History Library
1890 Veterans 1870 Mortality 1850 Mortality 1810 Manufacturing
1880 Defective 1860 Mortality 1840 Pension 1790 Slave
1880 Mortality
1820 Manufacturing

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of New York, click here.

State, Territorial, and Colonial Censuses

Main article: New York Census State Censuses


New York often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses.  The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1969 Native Americans [9]
  • 1845-1950 Native Americans [10]
  • 1875-1921 Almshouses and poorhouses – census is online at the New York State Archives. These are not indexed.
  • 1890 Manhattan police census – Ancestry.com has 26 of 894 surviving census books indexed online. On 59 microfilms. FHL film 1304777 (first of 59)[11]
  • 1870 New York County 2nd enumeration [12]
  • 1771 Shelter Island (Suffolk County), Gloucester County, Newtown (Queens County)[13]
  • 1776 Suffolk County [14]
  • 1657-1799 Lists of inhabitants [15]
  • 1663-1772 Colonial censuses – About every ten years. [16] Also, to locate existing colonial censuses and lists of petitioners, taxpayers, militia lists, freeholders (those who owned property), and persons taking oaths of allegiance, use:
  • 1696 Association Oath Rolls – Not technically a census, the 1696 Association Oath Rolls serves as a census substitute. The original records are found in class C 213 at the National Archives, Kew, England. [17] Gandy published abstracts of oath takers living in British plantations, including New York:
  • Gandy, Wallace. The Association Oath Rolls of the British Plantations [New York, Virginia, Etc.] A.D. 1696. London: the author, 1922. Digital version at Internet Archive; reprint: FHL 970 F2L 1995. [New York entries begin on page 33]
Census Records done by the State of New York
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Albany      

FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

FHL

FamilySearch

FHL Ancestry

FHL

FHL Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry

Allegany       FHL FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Bronx             FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Broome

FHL index

FHL   FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

  FHL

FHL

Ancestry Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Cattaraugus FHL FHL FHL FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

FHLFamilySearch FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Cayuga       FHL FHL FHL FHL Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Chautauqua

FHL index

FHL

FHL index

FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Chemung       FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

 

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Chenango       FHL

FHL

FamilySearch

FHL   FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Clinton            

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Columbia       FHL FHL FHL   FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Cortland FHL FHL FHL FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Delaware     FHL-p

FHL Ancestry

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Dutchess        

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Erie       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Essex       FHL FHL FHL

FHL

Ancestry Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Franklin       FHL   FHL   FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Fulton     FHL FHL 

FHL FamilySearch

FHL    FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Genesee           FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Greene       FHL FHL  FHL FHL Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Hamilton             FHL Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Herkimer

FHL index

FHL index

FHL index

FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL  FHL Ancestry Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Jefferson FHL FHL   FHL 

FHL

index

FHL   FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Kings (Brooklyn)       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry

FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Lewis FHL FHL   FHL FHL  FHL FHL Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry

FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Livingston       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL     FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Madison       FHL FHL FHL FHL Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Monroe       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Montgomery      

FHL index

FHL FamilySearch

FHL  FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Nassau                 FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
New York       FHL FHL     FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Niagara       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Oneida  

FHL index

 

FHL index

FHL

index

FHL index

    FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Onondaga       FHL FHL FHL FHL Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Ontario       FHL FHL FHL FHL Ancestry   FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Orange  FHL FHL  FHL FHL FHL FHL     FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Orleans       FHL FHL FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry

FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Oswego       FHL FHL FHL FHL Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Otesgo FHL     FHL 

FHL FamilySearch

FHL  FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Putnam                 FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Queens             FHL Ancestry   FHL index Ancestry

FHL Ancestry

Rensselaer      

FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL    FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Richmond       FHL  FHL FHL      FHL Ancestry

 FHL

index Ancestry

Rockland       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Saint Lawrence     FHL    FHL     FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Saratoga       FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Schenectady   FHL   FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Schoharie FHL FHL   FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry

FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Schuyler       FHL FHL  FHL      FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Seneca               FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Steuben FHL  FHL FHL FHL  FHL FamilySearch FHL  FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Suffolk         FHL       FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Sullivan       FHL    FHL     FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Tioga FHL FHL   FHL

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Tompkins FHL FHL     

FHL FamilySearch

FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Ulster       FHL 

FHL FamilySearch

FHL   FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
COUNTY 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Warren       FHL FHL FHL FHL  Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry 

FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Washington FHL FHL    FHL 

FHL FamilySearch

FHL  FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Wayne      

FHL index

index


index 

FHL FamilySearch Ancestry Ancestry

FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Westchester               FHL  FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Wyoming           FHL      FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry
Yates FHL  FHL FHL  FHL  FHL FamilySearch FHL FHL FamilySearch Ancestry FHL FHL Ancestry FHL Ancestry

For a list of questions asked in each New York state census from 1825 to 1925, click here.

How to Find State Census Records

Ancestry has digitized and indexed the 1892, 1915, and 1925 New York State Censuses.

Microfilm copies of all surviving New York state censuses are at the State Library. Manuscript copies for 1915 and 1925 are at the State Archives. The staff will not search these unindexed records for you. All state censuses are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Street indexes
The Family History Library has street indexes for the 1905, 1915, and 1925 Manhattan censuses on 36 films. The library also has a manuscript street index to the 1915 Brooklyn census, 1915 Queens census, and 1925 Queens census. 1925 census maps showing assembly and election district boundaries are available on microfiche for New York City FHL fiche 6088624, Buffalo FHL fiche 6088619, Rochester FHL fiche 6088627, and some other cities. More information on New York census records is in:

  • Douglas, Marilyn and Melinda Yates, New York State Census Records, 1790–1925, Bibliography Bulletin 88, Albany, New York: The State Education Department, 1981. FHL book 974.7 A1 number 72.

Existing and Lost Censuses

For a list of available and missing New York censuses, click here.

Why Use a Census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help determine additional records that contain information about the family.

More About Censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and Footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In 1907 Congress authorized the Bureau of the Census to publish the names of the heads of families enumerated in the first census of the United States in 1790. These printed volumes, which were originally published in 1907 and 1908, have been digitized and are now available online at the U.S. Census Bureau website.
  9. There is an Payment of annuities for the Cayuga tribe taken in June 1969 which lists names, birth dates, and addresses. FHL
  10. There are many census records held in the New York State Archives that have information on Native Americans from 1845 to 1950; however there is a restriction on records less than 75 years old.
  11. Only 894 of the orginal 1,008 Manhattan 1890 police census books survive. To find a location of a house you must use the Ancestry.com index, or use a city directory to find an ancestor's address. Then you can: 1. Look at the Wilson Street Directory (on FHL Film 1304784) -- 2. Find the city blocks your address is between -- 3. Locate the street and block number on the A.D. maps (on FHL Film 1304784) -- 4. Using the block number, find the E.D. number -- 5. Find the book number for the E.D. -- 6. Locate the film number for the book. See New York (New York), Police Department, Police Census, 1890 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1981)[FHL Film 1304784+]. The census lists the name, address, sex, and age of each person.
  12. Census takers enumerated Manhattan (New York County) twice in 1870 and both versions are microfilmed. The second enumeration, taken in December, is not indexed but includes street addresses, which make it easier to find your ancestor. In addition, the National Archives microfilmed all of the 1870 federal census schedules twice. As a result, there are four sets of microfilms for the Manhattan 1870 federal census.
  13. Harry Macy, "Newtown Census of 1771," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 1 (Jan. 1986):8. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117. The original census records were destroyed in a 1911 fire at the New York State Library. The three locations cited as surviving are transcripts made before that time.
  14. New York. Secretary of State. Calendar of Historical Manuscripts Relating to the War of the Revolution, in the Office of the Secretary of State, 1638–1801. Two Volumes. Albany, New York: Weed, Parsons and Company, 1868. (Family History Library film 1550750.) Index in Volume 2.
  15. Edmund B. O'Callaghan, Lists of Inhabitants of Colonial New York Excerpted from the Documentary History of the State of New York (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1979). [FHL Book 974.7 D4L; Fiche 6046723].) This source includes lists of town and county inhabitants of many colonial localities for various dates from 1657–1799.
  16. Carol M. Meyers, Early New York State Census Records. 1663–1772 (Gardena, Calif.: RAM Publishers, 1965). FHL Book 974.7 X28m.
  17. Cliff Webb, "Association Oath Rolls - Background to the Documents," Origins Network.


Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 July 2012, at 17:31.
  • This page has been accessed 41,035 times.