New York City, New York DirectoriesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New York
New York City
Directories
a. NYC (Manhattan) directories survive from 1786 and were published through 1935. After that date the telephone directories were printed.
b. City directories are essential for New York City research
c. City directories are a wonderful census substitute, and can be used to verify birth, marriage, death, cemetery and naturalization records.
d. Copy the city directory for every year your family lived in the city.
e. People in New York City tended to move every two to three years, expecially those in rented housing.
f. New immigrants are usually not listed in the city directories for about five years.
g. Minorities are listed in the city directories less often, so check every year.
h. Occupation and address can be compared to census records to differentiate between several people with the same name.
i. Pay attention to odd and even house numbers, as this determines on which side of a street a building stood.
j. The “Street and Avenue Directory” within the city directory can be used to find the cross streets for addresses.
k. City directories also list churches, synagogues and places of business.
| YEAR | FHL FILM |
| 1786 | 1598116 item 1 |
| 1786 | 6052944 |
| 1787 | 6052945 |
| 1789 | 6052946 |
| 1790 | 6052947 |
| 1791 | 6052948 |
| 1792 | 6052949 |
| 1793 | 6052950 |
| 1794 | 6052951 |
| 1795 | 6052952 |
| 1796 | 6052953 |
| 1797 | 6052911 |
| 1798 | 6052912 |
| 1799 | 6052913 |
| 1800 | 6052914 |
| 1801 | 982496 item 4 |
| 1802 | 6052915 |
| 1803 | 6052916 |
| 1804 | 6052917 |
| 1805 | 6052918 |
| 1805 | 6052919 |
| 1805 | 6052920 |
| 1806 | 6052921 |
| 1807 | 6052922 |
| 1807 | 6052923 |
| 1808 | 6052924 |
| 1808 | 6052925 |
| 1809 | 6052926 |
| 1810 | 6052927 |
| 1811 | 6052928 |
| 1811 | 6052929 |
| 1812 | 6052930 |
| 1812 | 6052931 |
| 1813 | 6052932 |
| 1814 | 6052933 |
| 1814 | 6052934 |
| 1815 | 6052935 |
| 1816 | 6052936 |
| 1817 | 6052937 |
| 1818 | 6052938 |
| 1819 | 6052939 |
| 1820 | 6052940 |
| 1820 | 6052941 |
| 1821 | 6052942 |
| 1822 | 6052943 |
| 1822-23 | 845205 |
| 1825-26 | 845205 |
| 1826-28 | 845206 |
| 1828-31 | 845207 |
| 1831-34 | 845208 |
| 1834-36 | 845209 |
| 1836-38 | 845210 |
| 1837-39 | 845211 |
| 1839-41 | 845212 |
| 1841-42 | 845213 |
| 1843-44 | 1000722 item 1 |
| 1844-45 | 845213 item 2 |
| 1845-47 | 845214 |
| 1846-52 | 1000722 item 2 |
| 1847-49 | 845215 |
| 1849-50 | 845216 |
| 1852-55 | 1000723 |
| 1856-58 | 1000847 |
| 1859-60 | 1000848 |
| 1860-62 | 1377171 |
| 1861-64 | 1000849 |
| 1862-64 | 1377172 |
| 1865-66 | 1377173 |
| 1864-68 | 1000850 |
| 1866-67 | 1377174 |
| 1867-68 | 1377175 |
| 1868-69 | 1377176 |
| 1869-70 | 1377177 |
| 1869-72 | 1000851 |
| 1870-71 | 1377178 |
| 1871-72 | 1377179 |
| 1872-73 | 1377180 |
| 1873-74 | 1377181 |
| 1873-75 | 1000852 |
| 1875 | 845217 |
| 1874-75 | 1377182 |
| 1875-76 | 1377183 |
| 1876-77 | 1377184 |
| 1876-77 | 1000853 |
| 1877-78 | 1377185 |
| 1878-79 | 1377186 |
| 1878-79 | 1000854 |
| 1879-80 | 1377187 |
| 1880-81 | 1377188 |
| 1880-81 | 1000855 |
| 1881 | 572482 |
| 1882 | 1000848 |
| 1882-83 | 1377189 |
| 1883-84 | 1377190 |
| 1883-84 | 1000856 |
| 1884-85 | 1377191 |
| 1885 | 1000857 |
| 1885-86 | 1377192 |
| 1886 | 1000858 |
| 1886-87 | 1377193 |
| 1887 | 1000859 |
| 1887-88 | 1377194 |
| 1888 | 1000860 |
| 1888-89 | 1377195 |
| 1889 | 1000861 |
| 1889-90 | 1377196 |
| 1890 | 1000862 |
| 1890-91 | 1377197 |
| 1891-92 | 1377198 |
| 1891-92 | 1000863 |
| 1892-93 | 1377199 |
| 1893-94 | 1377200 |
| 1893-94 | 1000864 |
| 1894-95 | 1377201 |
| 1895-96 | 1377202 |
| 1895-96 | 1000865 |
| 1896-97 | 1377203 |
| 1897-98 | 1377204 |
| 1897-98 | 1000866 |
| 1898-99 | 1377205 |
| 1899-00 | 1377206 |
| 1899-00 | 1000867 |
| 1900-01 | 1377207 |
| 1901-02 | 1377205 |
| 1901-02 | 1404068 |
| 1902 | 1606123 |
| 1902-03 | 1404069 |
| 1903 | 1606124 |
| 1903-04 | 1404070 |
| 1904-05 | 1606125 |
| 1904-05 | 1404071 |
| 1904-05 | 1266734 |
| 1905-06 | 1404072 |
| 1906 | 1606126 |
| 1906-07 | 1404073 |
| 1606-07 | 1266735 |
| 1907-08 | 1606127 |
| 1907-08 | 1404074 |
| 1908-09 | 1606128 |
| 1908-09 | 1404075 |
| 1909-10 | 1606129 |
| 1909-10 | 1404076 |
| 1910-11 | 1606130 |
| 1910-11 | 1404077 |
| 1911-12 | 1606131 |
| 1911-12 | 1404078 |
| 1912-13 | 1606132 |
| 1912-13 | 1404079 |
| 1913 | 528758; 579479-80 |
| 1913-14 | 1606133 |
| 1913-14 | 1404080 |
| 1915 | 1606134-35 |
| 1915 | 1266736 |
| 1915 | 1404081-82 |
| 1916 | 1606136-37 |
| 1916 | 1404083-84 |
| 1917 | 1606138-39 |
| 1917 | 1404085-86 |
| 1918 | 1606140-41 |
| 1918 | 1404087-88 |
| 1919 | 1606141 |
| 1920 | 1606141-42 |
| 1920-21 | 1404089-90 |
| 1922-23 | 1606143 |
| 1922-23 | 1606144 |
| 1922-23 | 1404091-92 |
| 1923 | 1759121 |
| 1924-25 | 1759120 |
| 1925 | 1606145-46 |
| 1925 | 1404094 |
| 1925-26 | 1759119 |
| 1931 | 1606147 |
| 1932 | 1404096-98 |
| 1933-34 | 1606148-49 |
| 1933-35 | 1606150 |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:21.
- This page has been accessed 593 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More