Newark on Trent, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Newark on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark St+Mary+Magdalene +Nottinghamshire.jpg
Newark St+Mary+Magdalene +Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark-upon-Trent
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


NEWARK-UPON-TRENT (St. Mary Magdalene), a borough, market-town, and parish, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the S. division of the wapentake of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 20 miles (N. E.) from Nottingham. The town does not appear to have been incorporated before the 3rd of Edward VI. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists; Independents; Calvinistic, Primitive, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics: the chapel of the Roman Catholics, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was completed in July 1837.[1]

Additional information:

Newark-on-Trent (generally shortened to Newark) St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish and market town; the parish boundary includes  Sconce Hill and Greenfield.

The church history is available at Newark St Mary Magdalene

The Church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Newark-on-Trent Wikipedia and Church of St Mary Magdalene Newark Wikipedia

From this parish the district church of Newark on Trent Christ Church, Nottinghamshire was formed in 1847 to minister to the growing development of the southern part of the town.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Newark St Mary Magdalene parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NEWARK ON TRENT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1599-1753, 1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1601-1916 Marriages 1600-1909 Burials 1630-1905 Bishops transcripts 1599-1839
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newark

The Register of Newark, Balderton Gate, Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, A transcription of baptisms 1795-1837, giving when born, when baptised, child's given name, parents given name, then surname, and abode, and trade or profession of the father.  Also there is a list of Officiating Ministers, 1795-1837 and burials 1811-1856 giving sunrmae, given name, age, abode, cause of death, and date interred.  Article is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 53, pages 42-54, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n, and the original is in the Public Record Office, London, RG 3193 and 3961, also held at the Nottinghamshire Record Office MR 5/34/2-7.

Newark Independent Chapel Lombard Street.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions showing surname, given name, date of death and age, dated from 1832.  The stones are now standing up against a wall. Article is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 78, page 42, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474569.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Newark 1811 Census.  Transcription of the 1811 Census showing head of household, and number in the household, showing number of children whatever age, and the name of the street.  Original held at Nottinghashire Archives Ref PR 27,558, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, pages 1-50, Family History Ref 942.52 D25n

Court Records

Peters, Doreen.  Christmas Adjourned Quarter Sessions 1864. Extract from the Newark Advertiser 1864.

A list of the Grand Jury, where they lived and their employment, of the Christmas Adjourned Quarter Sessions for Nottinhghamshire, 1863, and published in the Newark Advertiser March 1864. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol.119 page 60, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Absconders, Deserters and Miscreants 27 June 1772 to 29 April 1775. Advertisements of absconders, deserters and miscreants from the Cresswell's Nottingham and Newark Journal. Transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 113, pages 31-39, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Genealogy

Peters, Doreen.  The Dispensary Ball Newark 1864.  List of 242 names of those who attended the Dispensary Ball for the benefit of the Newark Hospital and Dispensary, extracted from the Newark Advertiser 27 January 1864.  Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.123, pages 41-42, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Newark War Memorial on Wall of Public Counter Head Post Office GPO.  1914-1918. transcription of listing in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 78 page 42, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupations

The Jolly Bargeman Ledger.  The Jolly Bargeman was an Inn on the banks of the river Trent, next to Collingham Wharf, 8 miles north of Newark.  They give a Weights and Measures used in the Ledger with their metric equivalent.  The index gives surname, first name, if given, the date of the ledger entry, year of the ledger entry, an address, if given, the person's probably occupation, and the "Rates anmd Rent, and the products carried dating 1857-1882.  Article is at the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.108, pages 1-57, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Newton, M. Nottingham Journal - of Newark, Gainsborough, Retford, Worksop, Mansfield, Chesterfield, Grantham and Sheffield Advertiser - January 11th 1800, Nottinghamshire Regiement of militia - List of Volunteers Discharged into his Majesty's Regular Forces.  Article gives date of Discharge, persons name, and Parish dated July 22nd-November 10th.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88 pages 24-27, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Aldermen of Newark 1549-1625 and Mayors of Newark 1626-1971.  Alisting of the Aldermen of Newark, from the first Incorporation of the Town by Edward V1, 1549, till the Aldermen had the dignity of Mayor conferred upon him by Charles 1, 1626.  Listing gives year, forename, and surname from 1549-1971.  Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, pages 67-71, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Newark Union Workhouse-Bowbridge Road, Newark.  This article has a transcription of the Admission book, those born at the Workhouse, and those that died in the Workhouse up to 1920.  It has the names in alphabetical order date born, from what parish, what they did for a job, the date admitted etc. Article ranges in dates from 1783-1920.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol.119 pages1-27, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n v.119

Guardians of the Newark Union and Appointment of Overseers 1864.  A list of the parishes within the division of Newark appointing the Overseers of the Poor, gives parish name, and forname, and surname of person appointed, in 1864.  Original is in the Newark Advertise 6 April 1864, and transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, page 52-53, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Voting Registers

1774 Poll List for Newark Upon Trent.  This is an aphabetical listing giving surname, and given name of the Poll taken in 1774, in Newark Upon Trent at the election for Representatives in Parliament. Another one was taken in 1790, and 1795.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 90, pages 1-79, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2014, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,465 times.