Newark on Trent Christ Church, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Newark on Trent Christ Church, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Newark on Trent Christ Church, Nottinghamshire|
Newark Christ+Church +Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Newark PLU|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
NEWARK, a town, a parish, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred, in Notts. The town stands on a level tract, on the Fosse way, on the river Devon. It is supposed to have been founded at the site of the Roman Ad Pontem, by the ancient British Coritani. The parish contains Sconce-Hill, and Greenfield. The living of St. Mary is a vicarage, and that of Christ church is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Lincoln.
The initial Ecclesiastical Parish of Christ Church was formed on a district church at Lombard Street Newark to offer relief to the Ancient parish Newark on Trent, Nottinghamshire St Mary Magdalene. The Ecclesisatical parish was formed in 1847, 10 years after the consecration of the church by the Archbishop of York on 7 August 1837.
The present church of Christ Church was originally St Andrew's Mission Church at the site off Boundary Road. The foundation stone of the present church was laid in December 1956, and the church was dedicated by the Lord Bishop of Southwell in March 1958.
See also Christ Church website
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Newark Christchurch Baptisms 1848-1957 Marriages 1858-1954
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newark
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474569.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Aldermen of Newark 1549-1625 and Mayors of Newark 1626-1997. A listing of the Aldermen of Newark, from the first Incorporation of the Town by Edward V1, 1549, till the Aldermen had the dignity of Mayor conferred upon him by Charles 1, 1626. Listing gives year, forename, and surname from 1549-1997. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, pages 67-71, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Newark Union Workhouse-Bowbridge Road, Newark. This article has a transcription of the Admission book, those born at the Workhouse, and those that died in the Workhouse up to 1920. It has the names in alphabetical order date born, from what parish, what they did for a job, the date admitted etc. Article ranges in dates from 1783-1920. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol.119 pages1-27, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n v.119
Guardians of the Newark Union and Appointment of Overseers 1864. A list of the parishes within the division of Newark appointing the Overseers of the Poor, gives parish name, and forname, and surname of person appointed, in 1864. Original is in the Newark Advertise 6 April 1864, and transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, page 52-53, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,705 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News