Newbrough, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Newbrough, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newbrough, Northumberland
St Peter' Newbrough Northumberland.jpg
St Peter' Newbrough Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695; For more records see Warden
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWBROUGH, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Hexham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 5½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Hexham.[1]

Additional information:

Newbrough St Peter is a chapelry in Warden, Northumberland Ancient Parish in Northumberland. Wharnley is a hamlet or village in the parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Date: 1769-1878 Related material at DULASC:
All Newbrough transcripts are included with Warden transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/260 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records which is to undertake improved access to the transcript images in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Newbrough, St Peter: Records of baptisms 1695-1980, marriages 1695-1976 and burials 1695-1980 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Newbrough is not included in the IGI or in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms and burials 1695-1980, marriages 1695-1753 and 1869-1976 and burials 1696-1980 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Newbrough (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records
  • Stonecroft (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1715-1721 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1715-1832.
  • Stonecroft and Hexham (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1722-1821, marriages 1716-1806, deaths 1715-1754.

Transcripts of baptisms 1715-1826, marriages 1716-1752 and deaths 1715-1754 for Stonecroft R.C. are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 17:04.
  • This page has been accessed 752 times.