Newburn, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Newburn, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newburn, Northumberland
St Michael and All Angels Newburn Northumberland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle; Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1659
Bishop's Transcripts: 1764
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWBURN (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, and chiefly in the W. division, of Castle ward, but partly in the E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; The parish consists of the townships of Butterlaw, Black Callerton, Dalton, East and West Denton, North and South Dissington, Newbiggin, Newburn, Newburn-Hall, Sugley, Throckley, Wallbottle, East and West Whorlton, and part of High Callerton.[1]

Additional information:

Newburn St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland. Sugley, Northumberland is a chapelry of Newburn.

Other places in the parish include: Black Callerton, Butterlaw, Dalton, East and West Whorlton, East Denton, High Callerton, Newbiggin, Newbiggin near Newcastle, Newburn Hall, North Dissington, Scotswood, South Dissington, Throckley, Walbottle, Wallbottle, West Denton, Whorlton, and Woolsington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/187 Date: April 1764-1880  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Newburn, St Michael and All Angels: Records of baptisms 1660-1966, marriages 1659-1977 and burials 1660-1955 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Microfilm copies of baptisms 1659-1751, 1764-1921, marriages 1659-1909 (incomplete), banns 1754-1782, 1810-1930, and burials 1659-1751, 1764-1833, 1838-1909 can be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1660-1812 and marriages 1659-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1659-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1660-1812, marriages 1659-1812 and burials 1659-1837 [with large gaps] for Newburn are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Newburn (microfiche TN85) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

Northumberland Collections Service also has records for the following nonconformist churches in Newburn Parish:

  •  Bells Close (Wesleyan Methodist) - Baptisms 1839-1968 and marriages (m 1926-1973).
  •  Bells Close, St George (Roman Catholic) - Baptisms 1869-1925, marriages 1872-1934 and deaths 1884-1885, 1918-1930.
  •  Lemington P.M. Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1885-1960.
  •  Lemington, Union Hall Road (Methodist) - Baptisms 1918-1971.
  •  Newburn, Davison Street (Wesleyan Methodist) - Baptisms 1865-1965 and marriages 1908-1964.
  •  North Walbottle (Methodist) - Baptisms 1903-1965.
  • Throckley, Hexham Road (Methodist) - Baptisms 1867-1953 and marriages 1922-1990.
  •  Throckley, Newburn Road (Methodist) - Baptisms 1919-1969.
  •  Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Newcastle P.M. Circuit. Records for 1824-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and Tyne and Wear Archives Service and are included on the IGI (listed as Silver Street). Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Newcastle West W.M. Circuit. Records for 1788-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Record Office, Tyne and Wear Archives Service and are included on the IGI (listed as Brunswick Place or Orphan House).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848).Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 17:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,639 times.