Newcastle under Lyme, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Newcastle under Lyme, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newcastle under Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle under Lyne St Giles Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newcastle Under Lyme
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newcastle under Lyme is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1849 from chapelry in Stoke upon Trent Ancient Parish. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Newcastle under Lyme include: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Particular Baptist, Plymouth Brethren, Presbyterian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Unitarian, and Wesleyan Methodist.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newcastle under Lyme St Giles was formed in 1807 formerly a chapelry of Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire

Newcastle under Lyme St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME PARISH (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1789-1918
1754-1906

FMP 1563-1901 1563-1901 1563-1900 1563-1900 1563-1872 1563-1872
FREG 1563-1876
1563-1875
1563-1872
FS 1563-1874, 1885-1888
1563-1875

NBI

1617-1897

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1563- 1965 Mar 1563-1982 Bur 1563-1872
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1864 Mar 1663-1842 Bur 1663-1804 missing Bap/Bur 1837/8 and 1861/3

Newcastle under Lyme Holy Trinity Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME HOLY TRINITY ROMAN CATHOLIC Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1730-1811

Knutton chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

KNUTTON CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1873-1906
1875-1904

FMP 1874-1902 1874-1902

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474632.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Newcastle/index.html

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,930 times.