Newcastle upon Tyne St Anne, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Newcastle upon Tyne St Anne, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newcastle upon Tyne St Anne, Northumberland
St Anne's Church, Battlefield, Newcastle upon Tyne .jpg
St Anne's Church, Battlefield, Newcastle upon Tyne
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle; Newcastle upon Tyne
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Newcastle upon Tyne PLU
Registration District Newcastle upon Tyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newcastle upon Tyne St Anne is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1843 from chapelry in Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints, Northumberland Ecclesiastical Parish. The living of St. Anne's is a perpetual curacy, endowed with £150 per annum, and in the patronage of the Vicar. The church, erected by the corporation in 1768, at an expense of £4000, is in the English style, with a square embattled tower surmounted by a graceful spire, and contains 526 sittings. There are places of worship in Newcastle for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, members of the Scottish Kirk, Sandemanians, Swedenborgians, Unitarians, Roman Catholics, and others.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438885.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle Upon Tyne Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 795 times.