Newchurch in Pendle, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Newchurch in Pendle, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Newchurch in Pendle, Lancashire
St Mary's Church, Newchurch in Pendle.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Village History

Newchurch in Pendle is a village in Lancashire adjacent to Barley, at the foot of Pendle Hill. Famous for the Demdike family of Pendle witches who lived there in the 17th century. Newchurch used to be called Goldshaw Booth and later Newchurch in Pendle Forest, however this was shortened to "Newchurch in Pendle". The civil parish is still named Goldshaw Booth.

Chapelry History

The Eye of God St Mary contributor Alexander P. Kapp.jpg

NEWCHURCH-in-Pendle-Forest (St Mary), a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Whalley 6 miles north by northwest of Burnley. It comprises the four townships of Barley with Whitley, Goldshaw, Old Laund Booth, and Roughlee. The chapel, dedicated to St. Mary, was erected by 1544. At Fence, in Old Laund Booth, is a church erected in 1837, called St Anne. Other places in the parish include: Old Laund Booth, Roughlee Booth, and Barley with Wheatley Booth. There were places of worship for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists, Baptists, Inghamites, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Newchurch in Pendle chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


NEWCHURCH-IN-PENDLE ST MARY Chapelry  (1691) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1691-1905 1723-1900 None
LOPC 1705-1903, 1906 1721-1845 1721-1856, 1906
LBMD None 1837-1976 None
FMP None 1573-1813 None
FREG 1835-1836, 1895-1907 1835-1836 1834-1836, 1905, 1907
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS(ancient parish containing NEWCHURCH-IN-PENDLE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Newchurch in Pendle and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pendle_witch_trials Wikipedia link about Pendle With Trials including some pedigrees of those executed.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-393. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,467 times.