Newchurch in Rossendale, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Newchurch in Rossendale, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newchurch in Rossendale, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723; Separate registers exist for Tunstead beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

NEWCHURCH-in-Rossendale-Forest, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, union of Haslingden, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 3½ miles east by southeast of Haslingden containing the hamlets of Deadwin-Clough, Tunstead, and Wolfenden, and part of the consolidated chapelry of Bacup and the village of Newchurch. The chapel was originally built in 1512, and was the first place of worship erected in Rossendale Forest. There are also churches at Lumb and Tunstead. The Wesleyan Methodists, Baptists, Unitarians, and other dissenters, have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Newchurch in Rossendale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


NEWCHURCH-IN-ROSSENDALE ST NICHOLAS Chapelry  (1606) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1890 1606-1914 None
LOPC 1606-1609, 1616-1622, 1624-1652, 1654-1934 1606-1609, 1616-1641, 1654-1845, 1864-1955 1616-1622, 1624-1642, 1658-1987
LBMD 1837-1895 1837-2007 1837-1895
FMP None 1654-1723 None
AC 1653-1723
1653-1723
1653-1723
FREG 1797-1812 1774-1812 None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS(ancient parish containing NEWCHURCH-IN-ROSSENDALE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Newchurch in Rossendale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Genealogy

Kelly, Mrs. Mary:  Hoyle of Bacup in the Rossendale Valley of Lancashire.

History and family tree of John Hoyle and Alice Howarth with the following surnames: Ashworth, Ecclestone, Hartley, Shaw, McWhinnie, Chadwick, Heap, Aspin, Heaton: dating from 1711-1980. to be found in the Lancashire Family History and heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol.6,no.3, pages 17-19. FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 389-393. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 16:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,142 times.