Newenden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Newenden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newenden, Kent
Newenden St+Peter Kent.jpg
Newenden St+Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selbrittenden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tenterden PLU
Registration District Tenterden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newenden is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent , see Newenden Wikipedia

Newenden St Peter is an Ancient Parish in Kent; part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Northiam, Sussex and Beckley, Sussex A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish church of St Peter, Beech Road, Newenden, has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted 'The township and parish of Newenden', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 163-172. Date accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online which records the Roman and Saxon history and also describes the manorial history of Lossenham and the 13th century Carmelite Priory there. Hasted describes Newenden as a township.

See Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Tenterden registration district Tenterden Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House

(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newenden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
NEWENDEN PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1746-1906 1746-1906
1747-1988 1747-1988
FREG 1559-1812
1538-1813
1559-1812
FS 1559-1812
1559-1812

FSBOOK 1559-1812
1560-1812
1560-1813
IARC 1559-1812
1560-1813
1560-1812
IGI 1559-1812 1560-1813
MIDK 1754-1911
PALL
1790-1813

TGEN 1559-1812
1560-1813
1560-1812

Land Tax

Images for Newenden available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Newenden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Tenterden Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

NEWENDEN LIBERTY (St. Peter), a parish, partly in the hundred of Selbrittenden, and partly exempt from any hundred, in the union of Tenterden, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 5½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Tenterden. [10]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 March 2012.
  5. Edmund Jermyn, The Register of Newenden, Co. Kent (London: The Parish Register Society, 1897). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  10. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-393. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,272 times.