Newfoundland and Labrador CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Newfoundland and Labrador Gotoarrow.png Census

Census records exist for French and British settlers in Newfoundland. In general, the French records are for Plaisance (Placentia). They are transcripts of copies at the National Archives of Canada. The original records are in France.

French

1671, 1673, 1691, 1693       Names all household members.

1698, 1704,1706, 1711        Names head of household only.

(All of the above census records are available at the National Archives of Canada. Transcripts of most of these are in “Mémoires de la Société Généalogique Canadienne-Française,” vols. 10-11.)

 

British

1796                                  Names heads of households for St. John’s.

1800–1801                        Names heads of households for Trinity Bay.

1836–1951                        Names statistical abstracts.

1911                                  Names all household members only for Fogo and Port de Grave.

1921                                  Names all household members. Does not include the districts of                                            Bay de Verde, Bonavista, Fogo, and Labrador.

1935, 1945                        Names all household members for entire province.

(These censuses are available at the Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador (P.A.N.L.)

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2013, at 04:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,469 times.