Newhaven, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Newhaven, Sussex
Newhaven St+Michael East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holmstrow
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Newhaven PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWHAVEN (St. Michael), a parish and seaport, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Holmstrow, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S.) from Lewes, 9 (E. S. E.) from Brighton, and 58 (S.) from London; The union of Newhaven comprises 16 parishes or places.[1]


Newhaven St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the town of Newhaven in the Lewes District of East Sussex.

The history of both the Ancient Parish Church of St Michael and Christ Church formed in 1881 as a mission church for part of the town is described at Sussex Parish Churches Newhaven St Michale and Christ Church The modern parish is shared by the Church of England and Methodist communities.The Roman Catholic church is dedicated to the Sacred Heart.

Newhaven Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) has a history of the parish

The Church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

other places of worship in Newhaven include

Baptist Church
Calvinistic Baptist Chapel
Cemetery Chapel
Christ Church
Congregational Chapel
Convent of the Sacred Heart Chapel
Countess of Huntingdon
Elim Pentecostal Church
Methodist Church
Primitive Methodist Church
Sacred Heart (Roman Catholic)

See also Newhaven Wikipedia list of places to worship in Lewes Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Newhaven, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Newhaven, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1894, 1897-1898


IGI 1553-1881 1553-1881


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newhaven

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-393. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,043 times.