Newington next Hythe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Newington next Hythe, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newington next Hythe, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Folkestone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newington-Shepway is a civil parish in Newington village situated west north west of Folkestone in Kent in the Shepway district of Kent, see Newington-Shepway Wikipedia and which includes the Ancient Parish of Newington next Hythe St Nicholas. A map of the ecclesiastical parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The Parish church of Newington St Nicholas has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 197-210. Date accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newington next Hythe, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Newington next Hythe, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1707

FMP 1559-1877 1559-1877 1560-1928 1560-1928 1560-1901 1560-1901
Online Newington next Hythe, Kent Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.

Images







Indexes

1560-1837? FamilyRelatives[5]

Land Tax

Images for Newington next Hythe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Images for Aldington, Hurst, Newington and West Hythe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.

 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

NEWINGTON-NEXT-HYTHE (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 2½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Hythe. [6]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes. Perhaps Newington-next-Sittingbourne
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 394-398. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,627 times.