Newington next Sittingbourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Newington next Sittingbourne, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newington next Sittingbourne, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton PLU
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newington is a village and civil parish and is on the A2 between Chatham to the west and Sittingbourne to the east, see Newington Swale Wikipedia.

Newington next Sittingbourne St Mary is an Ancient parish  which includes Breach; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you. The parish and is one of six churches in a group The Six website

The church of St Mary, High Oak Hill, Newington dates from the 13th century with additions in later centuries and was restored in 1862. The church has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 40-67. Date accessed: 9 September 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newington next Sittingbourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FREL = FamilyRelatives[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Newington next Sittingbourne, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1719

FMP 1561-1887
1558-1922
1558-1864
FREG
1560-1837

FREL
1560-1837

FS PRs 1756-1900 (banns)

Land Tax

Images for Newington available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832 These images refer to Newington next Sittingbourne but have not been waypointed in this way.

Census records

Census returns for Newington 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

NEWINGTON, a village and a parish in Wilton district, Kent. The village stands on Watling-street, and on the London, Chatham, and Dover railway; 3¼ miles W N W of Sittingbourne. [8]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes. Perhaps Newington next Hythe.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  8. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,992 times.