Newport County, Rhode Island GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Newport County, Rhode Island)

United States Gotoarrow.png Rhode Island Gotoarrow.png Newport County

Guide to Newport County, Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link= Island_Online_Genealogy_Records Rhode Island
Online Records

Newport County, Rhode Island
Map of Rhode Island highlighting Newport County
Location in the state of Rhode Island
Founded June 16, 1729
County Seat


County Courthouse

Newport County Courthouse
8 Washington Square
Newport, RI 02840-7199
Phone: 401.841.835 

Formerly Rhode Island Co. Name changed to Newport 16 Jun 1729. 1746-7 eastern boundary adjusted under decree of the King of England) (City and Tpwn Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records

Family and Superior Courts have divorce records;
Probate Courth has probate records from 1784,
District Court has court records; Recorder Deeds has land records from 1780
Newport Historical Society, 82 Truro Street,
Newport, RI has early church, land and probate records)
(Five towns & one city in Newport County
Towns Organized Before 1800; Jamestown 1678,
Little Compton 1746-7, Middletown 1743, New Shoreham 1672,
Portsmouth 1638, Tiverton 1746-7

There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Newport County, Rhode Island

22 June 1703: Formed as Rhode Island County

16 June 1729: Renamed Newport County. Named for Town of Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales. (Welsh:Trefdraeth)

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Rhode Island County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Rhode Island County Boundary Maps" (1643-1963) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

Places / Localities

Rhode IslandMassachusettsNewport CountyBristol CountyKent CountyWashington CountyWashington CountyBristol CountyNewportMiddletownLittle ComptonTivertonPortsmouthJamestownBristolWarrenBarringtonWarwickNorth KingstownWestportFall RiverSomersetSwanseaNarragansett
Modern towns and cities in Newport County, Rhode Island. Click map to go to each respective town page.


Archives and Libraries



For tips on accessing Newport County, Rhode Island Genealogy census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.










Online Probate Records


Vital Records

See also How to order Rhode Island Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Rhode Island Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums


  • Rhode Island State Library,
    State House, 2nd floor,
    Providence, RI 02903
    Phone: (401) 222-2473
  • Rhode Island Historical Society Library,
    121 Hope Street,
    Providence, RI 02906
    TEL: (401) 273-8107
  • East Greenwich Free Library,
    82 Pierce Street East,
    Greenwich, RI 02818
  • Lincoln Public Library,
    Old River Road,
    Lincoln, RI 02865,
    Phone: (401) 333-2422
  • Louttit Memorial Library,
    274 Victory Highway,
    West Greenwich, RI 02817
    Phone: (401) 397-3434
  • Robert H Champlin Library,
    1043 Main Street,
    West Warwick, RI 02893,
    Phone: (401) 828-3750
  • Warwick Public Library,
    600 Sandy Lane,
    Warwick, RI 02886

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.




Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2015, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 6,810 times.