Newquay, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Newquay, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay St Michael Cornwall contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
Newquay St Michael Cornwall contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEW-QUAY, a hamlet, in the parish of St. Columb Minor, union of St. Columb Major, hundred of Pyder, E. division of Cornwall. This place is situated on the shore of the Bristol Channel. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Newquay, (Cornish: Tewynn Pleustri) was a chapelry of  St Columb Minor Ancient Parish in Cornwall.

The parish was created 1882 from part of the Ancient Parish and the current church dedicated to St Michael and designed by Sir Ninian Comper, was built in 1911 since the expansion of the town had made the chapelry inadequate.

The church was destroyed by an arson attack on 29 June 1993 but has since been reopened (rededicated in 1996).  The stained glass windows and rood screen feature St Michael, the three other archangels, and Jesus Christ and Mary the Blessed Virgin.

The modern parish is within the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newquay, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Newquay, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1882-1911
1882-1913
1911-1938
FMP 1882-1886

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 165

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241271.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Columb Major Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Newquay in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-403. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,183 times.