NewtonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Newton

Guide to Newton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pickering PLU
Registration District Pickering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1866; For more records see Pickering
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON, a township, in the parish of Slaidburn, union of Clitheroe, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 7 miles (N. N. W.) from Clitheroe. There is a place of worship for the Society of Friends and the Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Newton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  NEWTON CHAPELRY (1718) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1725-1875 1720-1881 None
JOIN None 1718-1836 None
AC None None None
HATH

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 404-407. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 02:34.
  • This page has been accessed 924 times.