Newton County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Newton County
American Civil War fought near Villines Mill (Boxley Mill), Newton CO., Arkansas

Guide to Newton County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.










Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Newton County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Newton County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1842
County Seat Jasper
Courthouse
Address Newton County Courthouse
Court Street
Jasper, AR 72641-0435
Phone: 870.446.5125

Contents

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
Court Street
Jasper, AR 72641-0435
Phone: 870.446.5125


County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1866, probate and court records from 1880.[1]

Beginning years for Newton County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1866 1914* 1880 1866 1880
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1842--Newton County was created 14 December 1842 from Carroll County. County seat: Jasper [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Carroll  • Johnson  • Madison  • Pope  • Searcy  •

Newton CountyMarion CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountySearcy CountyBaxter CountyVan Buren CountyMadison CountyPope CountyConway CountyJohnson CountyLogan CountyFaulkner CountyFranklin CountyARNewton.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Newton County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For more information, see the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a particular location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The area that is now known as Newton County was once respected, protected and used by Native Americans.
  • 1818-1828 - The land was part of a reservation granted to the Western Cherokee.
  • 1833 - This area was now part of Carroll County and white settoers had begun to move in.
  • 1842 December 14 - Newton County was established.
  • 1800s (late) - The terrain made the area unattractive to land speculators, which was encouraging to people who could not afford land in other parts of the state.
  • 1861 - The isolation of Newton County resulted in an increase in population at the start of the Civil War.
  • 1865 - After the war, families returned to their previous way of life.
  • 1900s (early) - The 1900s brought increased population as outsiders moved to the county. Land speculators bought property. The county reached its largest population of 12,538 in 1900.
  • 1970-2010 - The county population reached its low point of 5,844 in 1970 and now stands at 8330 in 2010.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Newton County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County, Arkansas:

- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[4]
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5] Companies A, C, and I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1866-1958 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Dockets 1872-1936; Probate record index 1866-1902; Probate records 1866-1913; Wills 1915-1958.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Newton County, Arkansas
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Newton County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Newton County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Newton County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Newton County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL Collection
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 16:37.
  • This page has been accessed 8,754 times.