Newton County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Newton County

Guide to Newton County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Newton County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Newton County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 24, 1821
County Seat Covington
Courthouse
Address Newton County Courthouse
113 Usher Street
Covington, GA 30014
Phone: 770.784.2000
Newton County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
113 Usher Street
Covington, GA 30014
Phone: 770.784.2000

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1822 and miltiary records from 1917[1]

Beginning Dates for Newton County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1822

History

Parent County

1821--Newton County was created 24 December 1821 from Henry, Jasper and Walton Counties.
County seat: Covington [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1883. The courthouse at Covington burned 31 December 1883. A few old tax books and court records burned, but citizens carried most county records to safety.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • G. H. P. Noah Phillips of Newton County, GA. and Litchfield, Conn. His Ancestors and Descendants. Covington, Georgia. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Newton County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Ganewton.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Newton County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County, Georgia:

- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 18th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and F
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and E

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1822-1867 - Newton County Marriage Index 1822-1867. Batch M713451 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1850-1865 - Newton County Marriage Index 1850-1865. Batch M713452 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1852-1869 - Newton County Marriage Index 1852-1869. Batch M713453 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1866-1875 - Newton County Marriage Index 1866-1875. Batch M713454 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1894 - Newton County Marriage Index 1874-1894. Batch M713455 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1894-1895 - Newton County Marriage Index 1894-1895. Batch M713456 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Newton County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 46. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 21:27.
  • This page has been accessed 6,361 times.