Newton County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Newton County
Guide to Newton County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Newton County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | February 7, 1835 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Kentland | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Newton County Courthouse Courthouse Sq PO Box 49 Kentland, IN 47951 Phone: 219.474.6081 Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Parent County
1835--Newton County was created 7 February 1835 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Kentland [1]
Boundary Changes
Populated Places
Brook, IN
Goodland, IN
Kentland, IN
Lake Village, IN
Mount Ayr, IN
Roselawn, IN
Sumava Resorts, IN
Thayer, IN
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
Beaver City Cemetery (Aka: Smith Cemetery)
Buswell Cemetery, Kentland (Aka: Mount Zion)
Doran Cemetery
Fairlawn Cemetery, Kentland
Goodland Cemetery, Goodland
Kennedy Cemetery
Lake Village Cemetery, Lake Village (Aka: Lake Township Cemetery)
Morgan Cemetery (Aka: Tracey Cemetery)
Morocco Cemetery, Morocco
Mount Calvary, Goodland
Murphy Cemetery, Morocco (Aka: West Cemetery)
North Star Cemetery, Mount Ayr
Oakland Cemetery, Morocco (Aka: North Cemetery)
Pleasant Grove Cemetery
Porter Cemetery, Morocco
Prairie Vine Cemetery, Morocco
Riverside Cemetery, Brook
Roselawn Cemetery, Roselawn (Aka: Lincoln Township Cemetery)
Russell Chapel Cemetery
Saint Josephs Cemetery, Kentland
Sell Cemetery, Brook
Saints Peter & Paul Cemetery, Goodland
Census Records
For tips on accessing Newton County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Newton County (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Early Settlers of Newton County (1831-1859) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Newton County Courthouse
201 N. 3rd Street
PO Box 49
Kentland, Indiana 47951
Phone: 219-474-6081
Fax: 219-474-5749
http://www.newtoncountyin.com/gov_services.htm
Hours: 8AM-4PM
Assessor, Clerk, Recorder, Treasurer and Circuit & Superior Court: Criminal & Court Records, Civil, Small Claims, Probate
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Newton County, Indiana (1884) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- Every Name Index to Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana. Every Name Index compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2008; original text by F. A. Battey Co., 1883; reproduction of Unigraphic, Inc., 1973.EveryNameIndex.com
- F.A. Battey Co. Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 2008.) also (Digital images of original published: Mt. Vernon, IN: Windmill Publications, 1994. viii, 810 p.: ill., ports.28 cm. The original is a reprint. It was originally published: Chicago: F.A. Battey, 1883.) FHL Collection Digital versions at FamilySearch Books Online other library Internet Archive
- Biographical history of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, (Indiana. 2003. La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press.) FHL US/CAN Film 1731988 FHL Collectionother libraryvol.1Google books vol.2 Google books
Land and Property
Maps
Military Records
Civil War
Civil War service men from Newton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County.
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company G
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 51st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 99th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 128th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
Civil War Books
- "Newton County in the War" in F.A. Battey Co. Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 2008.) also (Digital images of original published: Mt. Vernon, IN: Windmill Publications, 1994. viii, 810 p.ill., ports.28 cm. The original is a reprint. It was originally published: Chicago: F.A. Battey, 1883.)page 685-955, FHL CollectionDigital Versions at FamilySearch Books Online other library Internet Archive
World War I
World War II
Naturalization
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Newton County Courthouse
Courthouse Sq; PO Box 49
Kentland, IN 47951
Phone: 219.474.6081
Attached to St. Joseph, Warren and White Counties
before re-creation & organization from Jasper County 8 Dec 1859.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate and court records from 1860.
County Health Department has birth and death
records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records from 1860. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
- Directory of Teachers (1936) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920-FamilySearch
Voter Registration
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- IMG class=FCK__MWTemplate src="https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/extensions/FCKeditor/fckeditor/editor/images/spacer.gif" _fckfakelement="true" _fckrealelement="2" _fck_mw_template="true">
- Newton County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History(Linkpendium)
- EveryNameIndex.comFree online genealogy indexes for those big old county histories.
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Newton County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 21:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,914 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
