Newton in Makerfield EmmanuelEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Newton in Makerfield Emmanuel, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton in Makerfield Emmanuel
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1737
Bishop's Transcripts: 1737
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

NEWTON-IN-MAKERFIELD, a market-town and parish, in the union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 4 miles (N.) from Warrington, 15 (E. by N.) from Liverpool, 47 (S. by E.) from Lancaster, and 192½ (N. W. by N.) from London. Emmanuel Newton-in-Makerfield was dedicated a district chapel in the year 1841 and stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Peter Newton-in-Makerfield.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Newton in Makerfield Emmanuel chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Newton in Makerfield St Peter to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD EMMANUEL Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1894  1844-1855  None
LOPC 1841-1844 None None
LBMD None None None
NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD ST PETER(ancient parish containing NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD EMMANUEL Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1833-1893 (part.) 1844-1901 1743-1812
LOPC 1835-1844 None 1813-1901
LBMD None None None
AC 1810-1827 None 1806-1844


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Newton inMakerfield Emmanuel and comprising the whole ancient parish of Newton in Makerfield St Peter to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the NEWTON IN MAKERFIELD ST PETER PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Date accessed: 22 October 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,193 times.