Newton in Makerfield St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Newton in Makerfield St Peter, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton in Makerfield St Peter, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON-IN-MAKERFIELD, a market-town and parish [as of 1682], in the union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 4 miles north of Warrington. Newton was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Winwick, but was erected into a distinct parish, by act of parliament, in 1844. The parish church, situated at Wargrave, and dedicated to Emmanuel, was built in 1844. The old chapel, which was dedicated to St. Peter, was built in 1682. After the creation of the parish of Newton, it was made a district church.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records Newton or Newton in Makerfield St Peter was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Winwick, but was erected into a distinct parish, by act of parliament, in 1844. The church was originally built by the year 1743, so searches in its church registers should be extended at least to that year. For searching prior years, search in the Winwick St Oswald Parish registers.

Newton St Peter as well as its attached smaller chapelry of Newton in Makerfield Emmanuel and their parish/chapel registers as listed below, have been indexed and the vital event data, posted online for the following ranges of years (click on the links below to view the data for each church):

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD ST PETER PARISH or NEWTON le WILLOWS (1737) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1833-1893 (part.) 1844-1901 1743-1812
LOPC 1835-1844 None 1813-1901
LBMD None None None
AC 1810-1827 None 1806-1844
NEWTON-IN-MACKERFIELD EMMANUEL Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1894  1844-1855  None
LOPC 1841-1844 None None
LBMD None None None


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,876 times.