Newton in Mottram, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Newton in Mottram, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON, is a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in the district of Ashton-under-Lyne, and county of Chester. The village stands near the Peak-Forest canal, and the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 1¼ mile S of the river Tame at the boundary with Lancashire, and 2½ miles S S E of Ashton-under-Lyne. The township contains also the villages of Newton-Green and Floweryfield; is sometimes called Newton-Moor; and is in the parish of Mottram-in-Langdendale. There are chapels for Wesleyans, New Connexion Methodists, andRoman Catholics, and a part of the chapelry of Godley.[1]

Newton in Mottram St Mary was a chapelry of Mottram in Longendale Ancient Parish until it was created as a parish in 1840. It included Floweryfield within the parish. It is one of the 35 townships of Prestbury in the pre-Norman period.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church Records

Newton in Mottram St Mary chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Newton in Mottram St Mary Chapelry (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Cheshire Record Office call number.: P152/1-3, P152/2/1-4, P152/4732/2, P152/3, P152/4/1-3, P152/4732/7-8.

Baptisms, 1839-1919. Marriages, 1842-June 1859. FHL BRITISH Film 2149025 Items 6 - 9 Marriages, June 1859-1950. Banns of marriages, 1852-1882. Burials, 1839-Jan. 1912. FHL BRITISH Film
2149186 Burials, Jan. 1912-1960. VAULT BRITISH Film
2149187 Items 1 - 3

Non-Conformist Churches

Mottram St. Andrew, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1895.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,568 times.