Newtown (near Meanstoke), HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Newtown (near Meanstoke)

Guide to Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Meon-Stoke
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Droxford PLU
Registration District Droxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Meonstoke with Soberton and Hoe; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newtown (near Meanstoke) was created a chapelry partly within the ancient parishes of Soberton and Hambeldon in the county of Hampshire, created in 1850. It stood partly within the ancient parishes of Soberton and Hambledon. Soberton was later annexed to the ancient parish of Meonstoke (all three ancient parishes of which, also see).

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[1]
NEWTOWN Chapelry (1850) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1850-1894 None None None None None
PRTS 1850-1904
1850-1982
1850-1950

.

Census records

Newtown was a chapelry laying partly within the ancient and civil parish boundaries of both Soberton and Hambledon ancient parishes. Soberton Parish later was annexed to Meonstoke Parish (by at least 1847 and which also see).

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288793.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.




Newtown (near Meanstoke) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Hampshire, created in 1851 from Soberton chapelry in Meonstoke Ancient Parish.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,653 times.