Nicholas County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Nicholas County

Guide to Nicholas County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Nicholas County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Nicholas County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1799
County Seat Carlisle
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Nicholas Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Contents

Nicholas County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Nicholas County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1800 1852 1810 1800 1800
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Nicholas County Courthouse
Main Street
Carlisle, KY 40311-0329
Phone: 859.289.3730[1]

Nicholas County Kentucky History

Parent County

1799--Nicholas County was created 18 December 1799 from Bourbon and Mason Counties.
County seat: Carlisle [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Nicholas County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Barefoot Ellisville Milltown Sprout
Barterville Headquarters Moorefield Upper Blue Lick
Carlisle Hickory Ridge (hist.) Myers Weston
East Union Hooktown Pleasant Valley

Neighboring Counties

Nicholas County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kynicholas.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 2,925
1810 4,898 67.5%
1820 7,973 62.8%
1830 8,834 10.8%
1840 8,745 −1.0%
1850 10,361 18.5%
1860 11,030 6.5%
1870 9,129 −17.2%
1880 11,869 30.0%
1890 10,764 −9.3%
1900 11,952 11.0%
1910 10,601 −11.3%
1920 9,894 −6.7%
1930 8,571 −13.4%
1940 8,617 0.5%
1950 7,532 −12.6%
1960 6,677 −11.4%
1970 6,508 −2.5%
1980 7,157 10.0%
1990 6,725 −6.0%
2000 6,813 1.3%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Nicholas County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

Bibliography
  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Bedinger] Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Stafford] Stafford, Carolyn Joy. The Biography of Thomas Moore Stafford, 1841-1910 of City of Louisville, Clark, and Nicholas Counties, Kentucky and Citrus and Lee Counties, Florida: Saddler, Soldier, Settler. Brandon, Fla.: C.J. Stafford, 2007. FHL Book 921.73 St13s; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Nicholas County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Nicholas County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nicholas County, Kentucky:

- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nicholas County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Nicholas County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Nicholas County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Nicholas County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[7] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Nicholas County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Nicholas County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Nicholas County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517821 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Marriage
Unsorted

Niocholas County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Nicholas County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Nicholas County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nicholas County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 September 2014, at 14:59.
  • This page has been accessed 11,054 times.