Nicholas County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
West Virginia
Nicholas County
Guide to Nicholas County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Nicholas County, West Virginia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of West Virginia | |
![]() Location of West Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 30, 1818 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Summersville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Nicholas County Courthouse 700 Main Street Summersville, WV 26651 Phone: 304-872-7820 Nicholas County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth records from 1855
Marriage and land Records from 1812
Death records from 1890
Probate from 1880
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records[1]
History
Nicholas County, West Virginia, USA
Parent County
1818--Nicholas County was created 30 January 1818 from Kanawha, Greenbrier and Randolph Counties.
County seat: Summersville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Nicholas County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Nicholas County, West Virginia Cemeteries (USGENWEB)
Find A Grave - Nicholas County, West Virginia
Tombstone Transcriptions Nicholas County
Interment.net Cemetery Records Online Nicholas County, West Virginia
The Nicholas County West Virginia Political Graveyard.com
Mount Lookout Cemetery, Mount Lookout BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Nicholas County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Nicholas County, West Virginia Census Records USGenweb Archives
Church
Court
Genealogy
- [Coberly] Arthaud, John Bradley. "Dr. James Stell Coberly 18th Century Migrant from New Jersey to Virginia and Revolutionary Patriot," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):112-117; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):183-189. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).
Local Histories
Bell C. W. The Double Grave: A Chapter in the Early History of Nicholas County. Summersville, West Virginia, Press of the Nicholas Chronicle, 1929. 975.469 B433 Pam.
Bell, Carol Hughes and Hilda Grose. Summersville Pictorial History, 1820-1991. Marceline, Missouri, Heritage House Publishing, 1991. 975.469 B433.
Brown, William Griffee. History of Nicholas County, West Virginia. Richmond, Virginia, Dietz Press, 1954.
975.469 B881.
__________________. History of Nicholas County, West Virginia. Richwood, West Virginia, The News Leader, 1981. 975.469 B881 1981.
Campbell, Edward. "Nicholas County's First Settlers," West Virginia History, Charleston, West Virginia, Department of Archives and History, 1954-55.
Arc 1. 4:16.
Deitz, J. Dennis. Mountain Memories II. Charleston, West Virginia, Jalamap Publications, 1983.
818.54 D325 2.
_____________. Mountains Memories III. Charleston, West Virginia, Jalamap Publications, 1984.
818.54 D325 3.
_____________. Mountains Memories IV. Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain Memories Books, 1985.
818.54 D 325 4.
Groves, James Huling. Life at the Bend. s. l., William Groves Long, 1995.
975.469 G884.
Just For Old Time Sake: A Book From The Past. s. l., Jim Comstock and Bronson McClung, 1949.
Q975.469 C739.
Legg, A. J. A History of Panther Mountain Community (Nicholas County, West Virginia). Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1930 (On-line version).
Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: L45.
Leivasy Centennial Committee. Leivasy, West Virginia, Centennial, 1979. s. l., n. p., 1979.
975.469 L533 Pam.
Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society. Nicholas County West Virginia Heritage 2000. Summersville, West Virginia, Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society, 2000.
975.469 N597 2000.
__________________________________________. Nicholas County West Virginia History, 1985. Summersville, West Virginia, Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society Inc., 1985.
975.469 N597.
Nicholas County State Troops, Enrolled and Enlisted Men. s. l., n. p., n. d.
MS 79-229.
Stults, Erma. Only In Memories: Crupperneck: West Virginia: Recollections of Rural America. Murfreesboro, Tennessee, Southern Heritage Press, 1998.
B S934.
Van Bibber, Mathias. Mathias Van Bibber Papers, 1799-1844. s. l., n. p.
MS 80-152.
Webster County Historical Society. Nicholas County, (West) Virginia Records of the Pioneers, 1818-1860. Upper Glade, West Virginia, Webster County Historical Society, Inc., 1985.
929.3 N597w.
Maps
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Nicholas County West Virginia 1895
Nicholas County, West Virginia Map
Military
Revolutionary War
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Nicholas County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nicholas County, West Virginia:
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L.[3]
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company D (Nicholas Blues).[4]
- - 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (2nd Kanawha Infantry) (Confederate). Company F (Mountain Riflemen).[5]
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Nicholas County.
- August 26, 1861 = Kessler's Cross Lanes, also known as Cross Lanes[6]
- September 10, 1861 = Carnifex Ferry[7]
- Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.
Naturalization
- West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Newspapers
Probate
Nicholas County, West Virginia Will Book 1820 - 1969
- West Virginia Will Books
- Nicholas County, West Virginia Wills
Taxation
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1817-1833, 1837-1843, 1847, 1849, 1853-1861, 1864-1869, 1873-1969 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Nicholas County, West Virginia Families
- Southeast Kansas Genealogy Bibliography Nicholas County, West Virginia
- Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
![]() |
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos. |
|---|
!
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nicholas County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 36.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
| This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 April 2013, at 02:06.
- This page has been accessed 2,906 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



