Nonington, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Nonington, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nonington, Kent
Nonington St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Nonington St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wingham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1547 - Court of the Exempt Jurisdiction of Wingham; Post-1546 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Nonington is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent Nonington Wikipedia

Nonington St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury. The parish is part of the East Bridge deanery interactive website and a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church which dates from 13th century and was originally a chapelry of Wingham, Kent until 1282; it was restored by Ewan Christian in 1867 and again in 1887. It is designated by English Heritage as a grade I listed building, British listed building.

See Edward Hasted [The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 251-262. Date accessed: 9 September 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nonington, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Nonington, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1540-1927 1540-1927 1538-1935 1538-1935
IGI {{IGI|P012951|disp=1538-1727}} {{IGI|M012951|disp=1538-1725}}
KOPC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1813

Land Tax

Images for Nonington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.

See Kent Census



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

NONINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Wingham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 4¼ miles (S. by E.) from Wingham. [6]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 416-421. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,134 times.