Noord-HollandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png The Netherlands Gotoarrow.pngNoord-Holland


Guide to Noord-Holland, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


News
  • (Your Bullets here)

more...

Events
  • (Your Bullets here)


Topics

Noord-Holland

For Geographical and Historical Information see: Noord-Holland

The capital city is Haarlem, see: Haarlem

A good web-site for this province is: Digitale bronbewerkingen Nederland en België Then, on the left side of the screen, find Noord-Holland and click on the Internet button located below the name of the province you are looking for.

When, in your research, you find an ancestor who came from Noord-Holland and you fill out the locality field, please do not translate the name of the province. In other words, don't write 'North Holland', but 'Noord-Holland' and make sure it is hyphenated as well. This is the correct way to enter the name of the province.

Contents

Featured Content

(Add text and/or an image here)

Jurisdictions

The following unofficial and official regions are found in Noord-Holland:

  • Amstelland (the area around the Amstel)
  • Bollenstreek (the flower areas found in both Noord-Holland and Zuid-Holland)
  • Gooi (usually "Het Gooi" or "'t Gooi")
  • IJmond ("The Mouth of the IJ")
  • Kennemerland
  • Noorderkwartier ("The North Quarter")
  • Noordvleugel ("The North Wing")
  • Randstad
  • Texel
  • Vechtstreek ("The Vecht Area")
  • Waterland (now effectively the municipality of Waterland)
  • West-Friesland (West Friesland)
  • Zaanstreek ("The Zaan Area")

Did you know?

(Add text and/or an image here)

Research Tools

Genealogy in Noord-Holland

There are no specific naming traditions that researchers need to take into account when doing research in Noord-Holland. Most families had fixed surnames centuries before the civil registration made that mandatory. Some regions did use patronymics in addition to the family name.

Most genealogical records of the province are kept by the Noord-Hollands Archief. The records of Amsterdam are kept by the Amsterdam Municipal Archives.

Many of the marriage records from Noord-Holland can be found in WieWasWie. This does not include Amsterdam, which in itself accounts for about 10% of the total number of marriage records in the Netherlands. The Amsterdam marriage records are not available online and will not become available for at least another couple of years.


Emigration from Noord-Holland

Noord-Holland has always been one of the more prosperous parts of the Netherlands. Amsterdam especially has always drawn many immigrants. As a result, Noord-Holland wasn’t struck particularly hard by any of the major emigration waves. Many enterpreneurs, especially from Amsterdam, left the country to live in colonies or tradeposts around the world.

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,291 times.