Norbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Norbury

Guide to Norbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norbury is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1737 from chapelry in Stockport [St Mary] Ancient Parish.

Contents

Parish History

Norbury, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

NORBURY, is a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Stockport parish, Cheshire. The village stands adjacent to the Stockport and Buxton railway, and near an affluent of the river Mersey, 1 mile S E of Hazlegrove railway station, and 3 S E of Stockport. The township contains also part of the village of Hazlegrove, which has a post-office under Stockport. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.

Church records

Norbury St Thomas chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Norbury St Thomas Chapelry (1818) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1818-1909   NONE
1837-1934   NONE
1834-1898   NONE
FS BT'S 1830-1877   NONE
   NONE   NONE
1834-1834   NONE
FMP (£)      KN
    KN
     KN
    KN
1834-1977
1834-1977
NBI



1834-1977

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of Norbury parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers:  Cheshire Record Office call no.: P142/1/1-3, P142/4615/1-11, P142/2/1-5, P142/3/1-2.

Parish registers from Norbury, near Stockport, 1829-1968
Film
Baptisms, 1829-1953. Marriages, 1837-1858.
1941873 Items 5 - 11
Marriages, 1858-1929.
1941899
Marriages, Sep. 1929-1956. Marriage banns, 1923-1968. Burials, 1834-1862
1941900
Burials, Apr. 1862-1898.
1941901 Item 1

 Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office: P247/5123/1, 4-7, 14, P247/1/1-2, P247/2/1-2, P247/3.

Parish registers for Poynton, 1723-1959 (Chapelry of Norbury)
Film
Baptisms, 1723-1795, marriages, 1723-1753. Baptisms, 1795-1868 (includes the chapelry of Norbury, 1812-1829).
2149189 Items 2 - 5
Baptisms, 1868-1959. Marriages, 1859-1947.
2149188
Baptisms, 1868-1958 (another filming). Marriages, 1859-1936 (another filming).
2149189 Items 6 - 9
Banns of marriages, 1859-1934.
2149189 Item 1
Marriages, 1936-1947. Burials, 1840-1883
2149219 Items 1 - 2

Parish registers: Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : North Cheshire Family History Society, 1997-c2001

Parish of St. Thomas, Norbury (Hazel Grove) (Chapelry of Norbury)
Film
Part 1, a list of burials in date order, 1834-1898. (3 fiches) 
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200566
Part 2, an alphabetical listing of burials, 1834-1898. (3 fiches)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200567
Burials, 1898-1977 (7 fiches)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6395271

Bishop's transcripts: Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.

Bishop's transcripts for Norbury, 1829-1877 Film
Baptisms, 1829-1833, baptisms, burials, 1834-1874, baptisms, 1875-1877, burials, 1875-1877. 1647523 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 171

Bishop's transcripts for Poynton and Norbury, 1723-1864 (Chapelry of Norbury)
Film
Baptisms, marriages, 1723-1726, baptisms, 1727-1733, baptisms, marriages, 1733-1753, baptisms, 1754-1801, 1809-1810, 1807-1808, 1805, 1804, 1802, 1801, 1810-1827, 1829, 1831-1839, 1840, 1839, baptisms, burials, 1840, baptisms, 1841-1842, burials, 1841-1842, baptisms, burials, 1843-1862, baptisms, 1863. 1647669 Item 3
Baptisms, burials, 1863, burials, 1864. 1647670 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels. The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office. 
Methodist
Primitive Methodist.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837-1900)

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and Stockport

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 October 2014, at 01:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,075 times.