Norham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Norham, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Berwick PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1767|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
NORHAM, or Norhamshire (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Berwick-upon-Tweed, N. division of Northumberland, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Berwick. The parish consists of the townships of Duddo, Felkington, Grindon, Horncliffe, Loan-End, Longridge, Norham, Norham-Mains, Shoreswood, Thornton, and Twizel. There is a place of worship in connexion with the United Secession Synod of Scotland. 
NORHAM-MAINS, a township, in the parish of Norham, union of Berwick-upon-Tweed, N. division of Northumberland, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Berwick.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/196 1767-1841 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts include "North Durham" prior to 1844 but the parish is in Northumberland. North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Norham, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms, marriages and burials 1653-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1653-1875 and marriages 1653-1877 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1653-1812 and banns 1754. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1654-1812 and baptisms of dissenters 1732-1836 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
Duddo, All Saints: Records of marriages 1867-1961 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
- This page has been accessed 1,540 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page