Norley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Norley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norley, Cheshire
St John the Evangelist Norley Cheshire.jpg
St John the Evangelist Norley Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1855; For more records see Frodsham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1855
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORLEY, is a township, in the lordship of Kingsley, parish of Frodsham, union of Runcorn, hundred of Eddisbury, and South division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles (S. E.) from Frodsham, on the road to Northwich. A church was erected here in 1832. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Norley St John The Evangelist was created from a former chapelry within Frodsham, Cheshire  Ancient Parish.

Norley is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It lies to the north of Delamere Forest, near the village of Cuddington.

The parish church of St John the Evangelist stands to the northwest of the village. Its benefice is combined with those of Christ Church, Crowton, and St John the Evangelist, Kingsley.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Norley St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Norley St John the Evangelist Parish (1855) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE   NONE
   NONE   NONE
   NONE   NONE
FS BT'S 1855-1898   NONE
   NONE   NONE
1887-1899   NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
 Here is a list of Norley parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 157

Bishop's transcripts for Norley, 1855-1899 Film
Baptisms, 1855-1856, burials, 1887-1890, baptisms, 1887-1890, baptisms, burials, 1891-1895, baptisms, 1896-1898, burials, 1896-1899.
1647523 Item 2
Non Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Wesleyan Methodist records: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 203/1.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Norley, 1871-1891 Film
Baptisms: 1629-1849 Banns of marriages: 1754, 1761-1769 Marriages: 1629-1786 Burials: 1629-1812 2299474 Item 22

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Runcorn (1837-1934)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 294, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 2,099 times.