Normanton on Soar, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Normanton on Soar, Nottinghamshire
St James Normanton on Soar Nottinghamshire.jpg
St James Normanton on Soar Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

NORMANTON-UPON-SOAR (St. John), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 4½ miles (N. N. W.) from Loughborough. The river Soar bounds, and the Midland railway passes through, the parish. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Normanton on Soar St James is an Ancient Parish. A church history is available Normaton on Soar Village website The Parish Church of Normanton on Soar St James has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building See also St James Normanton Wikipedia and Normanton on Soar Wikipedia Normanton on Soar One Place Study boundary map

Resources

Cemetery

Normanton on Soar Cemetery.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1753, giving surname, given names, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 45-48, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Normanton on Soar, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NORMANTON ON SOAR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1559-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives  Baptisms 1560-1901 Marriages 1559-1979 Burials 1560-1979 Bishops transcripts 1615-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Normanton on Soar

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Military

Chettle, Jim.  People Who Paid in the Patriotic Fund at Normanton on Soar. List of people who paid into the Patriotic Fund, given name, surname, probably the 1914-1918 War.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 18,998, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 115, page 64, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

John Charlton's Will of Kegworth 1711. An extraction of names from John Charlton's Will who was living in Normanton Upon Soare, Nottinghamshire, being requested to be buried in the Chapel of Kegworth, near to his mother as possible. Transcription gives a list of names, relationship, to John Charlton, and some where they lived, and their occupation. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.CH 22/5, and transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 117, page 51, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Normanton on Soar in GENUKI

References


  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:36.
  • This page has been accessed 918 times.