Normanton on Trent, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Normanton on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Normanton-on-Trent St Matthew Nottinghamshire.jpg
Normanton-on-Trent St Matthew Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark-upon-Trent
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

NORMANTON-UPON-TRENT (St. Matthew), a parish, in the union of East Retford, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Tuxford. This parish, which is bounded on the east by the river Trent. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Normanton on Trent St Matthew is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching this parish Normanton on Trent

The Parish Church of St Matthew has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed Building

See also Normanton on Trent Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Normanton on Trent, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NORMANTON ON TRENT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1673-1849 Marriages 1685-1972 Burials 1672-1946 Bishop's Transcripts1603-1853
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Normanton on Trent

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Normanton on Trent in GENUKI

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,175 times.