North Carolina CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  North Carolina  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online North Carolina indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of North Carolina 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1840-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of North Carolina 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1890 indexes Link - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
imagesLink Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1784-1830

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of North Carolina 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1820 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1810 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1800 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1790 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
[8]
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1785 State indexes - - - - - - - - - -
images - - - - - Trans-
cript
Trans-
cript
Trans-
cript
- -
1784 State indexes - - - - - - - - - -
images - - - - - Tran-
script
 
Tran-
script
 
Tran-
script
 
- -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1900 and Soundex 1850 1810  
1930 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1840 1800  
1920 and Soundex 1870 1830 1790  
1910 and Soundex 1860 1820  


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1900 T623 and Soundex T1063 1860 M653  1820 M33
1930 T626 1890 fragments M407 and index M496 1850 M432 1810 M252
1920 T625 and Soundex M1579 1880 T9 and Soundex T766 1840 M704 1800 M32
1910 T624 and Soundex T1271  1870 M593 1830 M19 1790 M637  

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of North Carolina, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for North Carolina

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner - - - Link[9] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[9] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian census rolls, Cherokee, 1898-1939 Catawba Indian records, 1849
Civil War Union veterans and widows, 1890 Cherokee Nation east, roll of 1835
Mortality and Manufacturing schedules, 1850-1880 Cherokees, east of MS river, 1835 index
Cherokee muster rolls, 1834,1837,1838


The North Carolina State Archives has these nonpopulation censuses for North Carolina:
Agriculture: 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880
Industry/Manufacturing: 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880
Social Statistics:
1850, 1860, 1870

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of North Carolina, click here.

State and colonial censuses

North Carolina took a few censuses in the years before the first federal census was taken. The dates are listed below. These censuses may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

State and colonial censuses of North Carolina[10][11]
1784-1787 State census[12]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing North Carolina censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In 1907 Congress authorized the Bureau of the Census to publish the names of the heads of families enumerated in the first census of the United States in 1790. These printed volumes, which were originally published in 1907 and 1908, have been digitized and are now available online at the U.S. Census Bureau website.
  9. 9.0 9.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  10. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 89.
  11. Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 51.
  12. Alvaretta K. Register, State Census of North Carolina, 1784–1787, 2nd rev. ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1973)[FHL Book 975.6 X2r]. 24 of the 50 counties then existing. This census took three years to complete. It shows heads of households, their residence, and the age categories of their household members. It is indexed.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 34,752 times.