North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States North CarolinaGuide to North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
|News and Events|
|NCGenWeb Project has adopted North Carolina and its counties. You are invited to contribute to any NC pages to help us make a better Wiki.|
First in Flight
- 8 proprietors granted land 1663-1729; Granvilles continued to 1763
- Poor natural harbors forced most settlers to come overland to NC
- State births and deaths start 1913
- The best U.S. handbook is Helen F. M. Leary, ed, North Carolina Research
|How to Find Information about North Carolina Ancestors|
Extinct or Historical Countiesclick here.
Counties gone to Tennessee or Virginia: State of Franklin · Blount · Caswell (TN) · Davidson (TN) · Fincastle (VA) · Greene (TN) · Hawkins · Sevier · Spencer · Sullivan · Sumner · Tennessee · Washington (old) · Wayne (TN)
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Albermarle · Albermarle Precinct · Archdale · Bath · Berkeley · Bute · Carteret Precinct · Clarendon · Cleaveland · Dobbs · Glasgow · Pamptecough · Pelham · Shaftesbury Precinct · Tryon · Wickham
North Carolina State Archives · State Library of North Carolina · University of North Carolina Library · Duke University Perkins Library · National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta) · Library of Congress
Atlantic Coast Ports · Black Fox Trail · Catawba and Northern Trail · Catawba Trail · Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad · Fall Line Road Southern Road · Fayetteville, Elizabethtown, and Wilmington Trail · Great Valley Road · Jonesboro Road · King's Highway · Lower Cherokee Traders' Path · New River and Southern Trail · Occaneechi Path · Old Cherokee Path · Rutherford's War Trace · Secondary Coast Road · Unicoi Trail · Upper Road · Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail
- Guide To Research Materials In the North Carolina State Archives 379 page county record inventory. Lists county formation date, courthouse disasters, record types (bonds, corporate, court, election, estate, land, marriage, roads, tax, wills), dates covered, if a book, boxed, or filmed.
- The North Carolina GenWeb Project provides county information about formation date, parent county, county seat, bibliography, cemeteries, census, churches, towns, history, look ups, obituaries, queries, repositories, surname registry, and many Internet links.
- How to order North Carolina Vital Records
- Researching North Carolina Census Records*Message Boards and other Internet sites can help. CyndisList links to 24 categories of NC genealogy Internet sites.
- State of North Carolina County & City Government Court records
- Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
- North Carolina Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of North Carolina Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of North Carolina Counties
- North Carolina Blacksheep Ancestors, NC prisoners, outlaws, court records, and executions.
- Join a Community of North Carolina researchers! Ask questions, help others, and share your research successes on Facebook and/or Skype.
- DigitalNC Collection: North Carolina's Digital Heritage
- North Carolina Genealogy extensive directory of North Carolina records
- North Carolina Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina, Birth Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina, Civil Action Court Papers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina County Marriage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Davidson County Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Death and Burial (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Estate Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- North Carolina State Supreme Court Case Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things you can do
Below list some of the many tasks you can help with:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here
- ↑ Helen F.M. Leary, ed., North Carolina Research: Genealogy and Local History, 2nd ed. (Raleigh, NC Genealogical Soc., 1996), 313-28. (FHL Book 975.6 D27n 1996) WorldCat entry. Eight proprietors granted land to North Carolina colonists until they sold out to the Crown (King George II) in 1729. One proprietor, Lord Granville would not sell to the King. His agents continued to grant land in Granville District, a strip of land 60 miles wide on the Virginia border, until Granville II died in 1763.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 493. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). WorldCat entry. Three of the main overland routes to North Carolina were the King's Highway, Fall Line Road, and Great Valley Road.
- ↑ Eichholz, 494.
- ↑ The best U.S. genealogical research guide is widely acknowledged to be Leary because she explains research strategies better than any other.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2016, at 03:43.
- This page has been accessed 256,164 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News