North Carolina Search StrategiesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from North Carolina. As you read the North Carolina Wiki pages, also study the United States Wiki pages, which will help you understand terminology and the contents and uses of genealogical records.
Strategy for Using These Wiki Pages
Before using these North Carolina Wiki pages, you need to decide what you would like to learn about one of your ancestors, such as a birth date or a maiden name.
After you have decided what information you want to find, look at the Record Selection Table. Column 1 lists the kinds of information you may need and columns 2 and 3 suggest the best types of records for finding that information.
There is a separate North Carolina Wiki page for each type of record. These pages give more information about the records and how to find them. These pages are also listed in alphabetical order in the North Carolina Topics area of the main page for North Carolina.
Records Available from the Family History Library
The Family History Library has many of the records described in these North Carolina Wiki pages. The library's major holdings include censuses, land records, county histories, vital records, church records, probate records, and military records. The library has county records from most North Carolina counties and continues to acquire other genealogical records.
References to Using the FHL Catalog
The Family History Library Catalog, or FHL Catalog, is a listing of all the records available at the Family History Library. The catalog is available on the Internet, and at the Family History Library, and at each Family History Center. Staff there can help you learn to use the catalog.
This set of Wiki pages gives instructions for finding information in the catalog. For example, on the page called “ North Carolina Census,” you may find the following statement:
For more information about census records, look in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
- NORTH CAROLINA - CENSUS
- NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY]- CENSUS
- NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY], [TOWN] - CENSUS
This statement tells you to look in the catalog under:
- North Carolina, and then the subject CENSUS.
- A county in North Carolina, and then the subject CENSUS.
- A town in a county in North Carolina, and then the subject CENSUS.
For additional information on using the catalog, see Introduction to the Family History Library Catalog.
FHL Call Numbers
Some of the sources described in the North Carolina Wiki pages list the Family History Library’s book, microfilm, microfiche, and compact disc numbers in parenthesis. These are preceded by FHL, the abbreviation for Family History Library. These numbers may be used to locate materials in the Family History Library, and to order microfilm and microfiche at Family History Centers. FHL books do not circulate to Family History Centers.
Book Copies at Other Repositories
The WorldCat, or WorldCatalog, is a listing of all the records available at thousands of repositories primarily in the United States and Canada. By clicking a WorldCat link you will open the Internet to the WorldCat description of that particular book. Part of the WorldCat book description includes a list of libraries nearest your home zip code with a copy of that book in their collection.
The WorldCat catalog network was formerly known as OCLC. The Family History Library is not part of the WorldCat network.
References to Other Wiki Pages or Internet Sites
This set of North Carolina Wiki pages refers to many other Wiki pages or Internet sites that may help you in your research. Their titles are in blue or purple.
Use Large Databases Early in Your Research
An important starting strategy is to search large Internet databases for information about a selected ancestor. For example, search databases listed in Major Databases for Beginning United States Research.
- This page was last modified on 23 September 2011, at 18:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,056 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More