North Cave, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to North Cave, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|North Cave, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Howden PLU|
|Registration District||Howden; Pocklington|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1678.
CAVE, NORTH (All Saints), a parish, partly in the union of Howden, and partly in that of Pocklington, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 10 miles (E. N. E.) from Howden; containing the chapelry of South Cliffe, and townships of North Cave, and Drewton with Everthorpe. At South Cliffe is a chapel of ease; and there are places of worship in the parish for the Society of Friends, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of North Cave exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NORTH CAVE PARISH (1659) Online Records|
|| 1666, 1718-1831
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of **Parish** to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ***Parish*** page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464218.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-538. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:41.
- This page has been accessed 2,376 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News